Schwarburger

Jared Wassmer
TylerGAID
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2023

--

Research

Growing up in the Philadelphia area and being a big Phillies fan, I knew that I wanted to create something that combines my love of sports with my passion for graphic design. Over the summer, I thought of the idea for a restaurant inspired by the Phillies slugger, Kyle Schwarber, often referred to as “hitting Schwarbombs.” I took that idea and came up with the name Schwarburger. I instantly began brainstorming ideas on how to bring this concept to reality.

first rough drafts
Final Roughs and color

Logo

I played around with the idea of incorporating baseball park elements, jersey fonts, and a retro style into the logo. However, this concept just wasn’t working, so I decided to go a little more unconventional and break the word into two and place it between two burger buns. I was immediately drawn to the fonts Damion and Omnes Cyrillic Narrow Bold as they provided the retro-modern feel I was looking for. The design still looked flat, so I decided to incorporate more color into the buns. The design started to look too vectorized, and to fix this, I used the remove shape tool to create a negative space wave on the top bun and bottom one. I also decided to add a patented skewer with a baseball on top to give it a real American ballpark feel.

Final Logo
Style Tile

Patterns and Color

I wanted to utilize the colors of the Philadelphia Phillies and incorporated the brown tones from a burger into one. I drew inspiration from the patterns found on sandwich wrappers, which sometimes feature designs, as well as from food baskets and takeout paper. The primary pattern incorporates the classic red and white seen on a Phillies home jersey, while the darker pattern is used to create a contrast with the lighter nature of the main one.

Menu

For the menu, I desired an overall design and text that exudes a traditional, old-school feel. I chose Omnes Cyrillic Narrow for the headers and main items to complement them. To emulate that retro feel, I used a script font. For the shape, I created a circle to represent a baseball and added stitchings to emphasize the theme. On the back of the menu, I colored the stitches and added Kyle Schwarber’s signature to give it a personal touch.

Collateral

I created two pieces of collateral merchandise for the restaurant with the aim of giving them an iconic feel. For the shirt, I opted for a jersey-style design featuring Schwarber’s number ‘12’ on the back along with the restaurant’s name in the Omnes Cyrillic Font. The front of the shirt has a classic graphic tee style with the main logo placed in the upper left. As for the hat, I chose a classic white look with the logo embroidered on the front.

Website

The website presented a fun challenge with numerous assets to work with. Designing the website before creating my poster proved beneficial later on. I aimed for simplicity, showcasing the various assets I had created. The main navigation bar is positioned at the top, directing users to relevant information when clicked. I thoroughly enjoyed the process of creating this website.

Poster

The poster drew inspiration from the red website layout I designed. I aimed to emphasize the environmental graphic at the bottom and the advertisement billboard at the top. Highlighting the pattern and menu was a primary focus. Including the collateral designs was essential to reinforce the brand. To complete the design, I added images of a delicious-looking burger and fries at the bottom.

Conclusion

Despite some challenges with obscure shapes and creating my own mockups, this project pushed me to realize my best vision. With the help of my professor and peers, I am proud of how it turned out. The skills and adversities I faced during this project will undoubtedly benefit me in future projects, as I continue to improve my critical thinking and problem-solving abilities in design.

--

--