SEA LEVEL

Peter Pantano
TylerGAID
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2023

Sea Level is an upscale seafood restaurant nestled in the heart of New York City, located in SoHo, that offers a perfect blend of comfort and elegance for your dining experience. Our goal is to provide you with a top-tier culinary journey, featuring a carefully curated menu of expertly prepared seafood dishes designed to highlight the ocean’s natural flavors. The restaurant’s ambiance sets the stage for memorable moments with your loved ones, making it an ideal spot for intimate dinners, celebrations, and gatherings.

BACKGROUND

The idea for Sea Level came about when this assignment was first assigned, when brainstorming about what type of restaurant I wanted to create, a restaurant that resonated with all of the things I love and enjoy about dining. Those things include a good ambiance, delicious food, friendly staff and located in none other than my home of New York City. Sea Level proudly sources its ingredients from the finest distributors along the eastern coast, ensuring that every dish is infused with the freshest and most high-quality produce. Our commitment to excellence extends even further with daily specials that occasionally feature ingredients from the west coast, guaranteeing a diverse and exciting culinary experience.

LOGO DESIGN

The early stages of sketching ideas for my logo were fun, I played around with a lot of different imagery to coincide with the type. I experimented with everything from letterform to full body mermaids. I wanted this logo to stand strong alone. After hearing a lot of feedback it was obvious to pursue my logo option that consists of type and shape in a circle. The one issue that I did run into with this is finding a typeface that worked well with being used on an arch. Many of my original fonts that I wanted to use did not adjust well to this. So after many type experiments I settled on one and I am really happy with the way that it fits with the rest of the logo.

DELIVERABLES

All of my deliverables I wanted to make them feel as cohesive and as connected as possible. I enjoyed this process along with creating patterns and color schemes for different deliverables. I created a pattern of coral that I had used in one of my logo sketches and felt that it fit the brand and the colors well. This pattern can be seen on both the to go box, as well as tote bag. The process of creating the matchbox was one of the more fun parts of creating these assets. It allowed me to design a little more freely to truly accomplish the the luxurious feeling I was going for.

CONCLUSION

Throughout the process of developing Sea Level, it was overall a great learning experience. There are many things that I am proud of, however there are also many things that I would do differently going back. This project opened up my eye to many aspects of design, after completing such a large project I would go about my process differently. I would hold myself to working and focusing on one thing at a time rather than jumping around trying to work on everything at once.

DESIGNED BY: Peter Pantano

INSTRUCTOR: Paul Sheriff, Tyler School of Art and Architecture, Temple University

--

--