Tyler Stanley-Owusu
tylerstan
Published in
1 min readJul 18, 2016

--

1000 hours of sunset (free verse)

It’s summer,

Our home in solar space is facing the sun.

It’s 6 weeks till I start college,

4 hours till my plane reaches your city,

And it’s terminal 3 where you scoop me in your dad’s new jeep.

I forgot 5, the amount of times I’ve thought of saying ‘I’ve missed you.’

In a dream world, you’ll play frank ocean on the kitchen radio and make chipotle in my double XL metallica t-shirt,

And we’ll fall in love again in your california king bed,

Pillow talking while your hair’s still wet.

In a dream world, we’ll run around the beach having fun,

And settle down by the sunset breathless as you try running your fingers through my nappy hair.

And you'll lay on my chest, you ears on an interstellar mission to find out where my heart lies.

But in reality, we find solitude in our isolation.

For if our eyes lock,

You may be reminded that I’m probably not the same guy that asked you out at homecoming or the one that you told all your secrets on prom night.

And I may be reminded that we’re incredibly close yet still distances apart,

And we’ll both end up being so breathless,

That it takes more than an interstellar mission for you to find my heart.

~

--

--