TYML Daily: 1.22.19

Mike McGee
TYML
Published in
6 min readJan 23, 2019

Thought You Might Like (TYML) Daily serves up a small percentage of the stories where I think, “hmm, other people might like this too!” Today, we’re talking about Marie Kondo going to war, psychic vampire repellent, how to properly draw an X, and introducing a new segment called “WTF White People?!”

[lightning strike in the distance]

[ominous music plays]

People thought Marie Kondo coming for their precious book library was the worst of their problems. Little did they know she had other plans…

ONE WAY OR ANOTHER WE GON SPARK SOME JOY IN THIS B!

Props to William Hanson for the catch and smarts to publish this epic tweet.

As an avid Netflix binge-watcher, I’m pretty sure this mix-up has happened to me before. I was watching the Great British Baking Show (the best show on TV and YES I AM PREPARED TO FIGHT RUN UP OR GET DONE UP) and Netflix ended up putting the cover image for a Mission Impossible movie on the screen.

Take that screenshot next time, Mike!

From the creators of Laurel v. Yanny and Blue/Black vs. White/Gold I present…

How To Draw an X?

Yes, this graphic broke the internet this weekend. Even the TODAY Show is talking about this!

Note #1: I do want to check my right-hand media bias (what’s up, left-hand extremists) before I get into this. We all have room for growth.

Note #2: However, if you’re right handed and draw an X using methods #1–5 you’re a psychopath.

For the lefties: Actually, #4 & #7 are your only choices sorry that’s just how it has to be (growth is hard, y’all).

Understand this: DON’T 👏🏿 FUCK 👏🏿 WITH 👏🏿 BUZZ 👏🏿

  • West Point graduate ✅
  • Flew 66 combat missions as a fighter pilot ✅
  • Went to gotdamn space ✅
  • HIS NAME IS BUZZ ✅

Would you come up to a person with this resume and call their greatest achievement a fraud?

Well, this unnamed soul summoned his “mediocre white man” confidence and, yeah… watch the tape.

🤷🏻‍♂️ WTF White People? 🤷🏼‍♀️

What a perfect transition into the first installment of WTF White People?

But, seriously. WHAT IS THIS WHITE WOMAN DOIN? 😂😂😂

My favorite line is from a black woman asking, “is she washing the windows?” 💀💀💀

Next: What in the goop is this, Gwyneth (some things just write themselves)!

I have so many questions:

  • Vampires can be psychic? If so, are they enough psychic vampires to warrant this defense system?
  • Does this repellent work on normal vampires or do I need to look in the “For People Who Bought Psychic Vampire Repellent” section?
  • If the vampire is psychic, won’t they know I’m preparing to use this repe — ok, fuck it.

Yes, I already bought 10 of these.

SPORTS: Only kids named Zion can do this.

Have you ever waited for something so long (like years) and it was actually worth the wait? This is how I feel about Zion Williamson.

I haven’t played basketball since I dislocated my shoulder (popped that bitch back in myself tho 👀 💪🏿) in 2011, so I’ve had to get my basketball fix from watching much better basketball players on YouTube. About five years ago, I heard about this 8th grader from South Carolina that was going to be the future of the NBA. If you have doubts, just watch this video and tell me I’m wrong.

Fast-forward to 2019 and he’s a freshman at Duke (yes, evil always wins). But guess what? He’s so good that I’m kinda rooting for Duke, now? GAHHH I hate myself. But when he does shit like this can you blame me?!?

HE’S 👏🏿 A 👏🏿 FRESHMAN 👏🏿

There’s this other guy that’s good at basketball… his name is Steph Curry. Have you heard of him?

Ok, if you don’t watch the NBA, Steph Curry is the greatest three-point shooter of all-time. He’s so good at making threes that little kids pull up to shoot threes on wide open fast breaks (sorry coaches) 😂

He also puts on a show before each game that would make the Harlem Globetrotters jealous. This clip is from last week:

So good it hurts.

This is how I was going to end this TYML Sports section until late last night. But then I jumped on Twitter and…

You may not notice this but the Warriors have 107 points WITH TWO MINUTES LEFT IN THE THIRD QUARTER. Yikes, Lakers.
  1. Thank goodness he wasn’t seriously injured.
  2. While this is easily the worst play of Curry’s career, I actually love when these moments happen? For me, it makes all Steph’s highlights (like my favorite one below) all the more incredible.

Realization: I can’t wait to see a skinny 6'3" Steph go against the 6'8", 270-pound Zion Williamson in the NBA next year 🔥🔥🔥🔥

Listen: This Week In Jams

Last year, I created a weekly music playlist highlighting my favorite new & classic jams. I refresh this playlist every Sunday (or Monday… or Tuesday) and it’s available on Spotify & Apple Music!

If you’re into rap, pop, indie, electronic, house, dance, r&b, country, rock, blues, jazz, or soul go follow this playlist! And yes, every song is 🔥

Watch: A stunning live performance of “Carried Away” by H.E.R.

Yes.

H.E.R. (Having Everything Revealed) is the stage name of Gabrielle Wilson. Gabi’s latest album, I Used To Know Her: Part 2, just earned Grammy nominations for Album of the Year, Best New Artist, and R&B Album of the Year, so I’d say she’s doing ok!

Last week, she performed on the Late Late Show and probably gained a few hundred thousand more fans. MAYBE YOU’RE NEXT.

She was also featured on Vol. 42 of “This Week In Jams” so maybe listen to what I’m saying about the 🔥 coming from that playlist 😇

Analyze: The 2019 Oscars Nominations

Serious question: Does anyone know why Oscar nominations are released so early in the morning?

Personal Highlights:

  • Black Panther, BlacKkKlansman, The Favourite, and Roma being nominated for Best Picture.
  • Yalitza Aparicio (Roma) and Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?) receiving Best Actress nominations!
  • Regina King getting a Best Supporting Actress nomination for If Beale Street Could Talk. Don’t fuck this up voters! But, if you do fuck this up, get it wrong by giving the Oscar to Marina de Tavira (Roma).
  • Minding the Gap and RBG with the Best Documentary nominations! Both would be deserving winners and both are on Hulu RIGHT NOW SO GO WATCH THEM TONIGHT.
  • Congratulations to Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse for its future Best Animated Feature Oscar 😍
  • The Foreign-Language Film category is ALL 🔥 THE 🔥 WAY 🔥 LIT 🔥 this year with Roma (Mexico), Cold War (Poland), and Shoplifters (Japan)! #LFG
  • This is cool too!
  • Congrats to Spike Lee for FINALLY getting his first Oscar nominations with BlacKkKlansman (Best Director & Best Picture). I also came across the tweet today (✊🏿 props to Kim Basinger ✊🏿)
30. YEARS. AGO. Damn.

Personal Lowlights:

  • Everything about Green Book except Mahershala Ali who can do no wrong (well, besides being in this movie even tho I’m sure he was great)! And if he does win Best Supporting Actor, he’d have his second Oscar in three years and would become the first to win two acting Oscars that quickly since Tom Hanks did it in 1993 & 1994.
  • Once again, all the nominees for Best Director are men. Sadly, only one woman has ever won Best Director (2010: Kathryn Bigelow, Hurt Locker AND THE ACADEMY ALMOST GAVE THAT SHIT TO JAMES CAMERON FOR AVATAR ARE YOU KIDDING ME). Unfortunately, this isn’t just a “Best Director” problem, but with every major “behind the camera” category.
Yeah, YOU DO YOUR AWKWARD WHITE MAN LAUGH, RON.

Let’s End On a Good Note: The Best 25 Films of 2018 (A Video Countdown)

When you have baller friends, you get sent baller links.

If you need a video to watch while eating dinner or avoiding that important email I have something that will help!

That’s all for today’s edition of TYML Daily! If you enjoyed this post, I’d love for you to hold down the applause button on the left for about 20 seconds (or do 50 clicks really fast. Seriously, you can clap more than once it’s ok 😇). If you want to know when I publish a new post, just hit the follow button in the top left corner (or wherever it is they don’t tell me nothin around here).

--

--

Mike McGee
TYML
Editor for

Managing Director, @CodeNow | Managing Editor, @Screen_Gods | Creator, This Week In Jams | @NorthwesternU Alum | Senior Tech Correspondent, @Vocalo