Starting a Foundry: An Interview with James Edmondson of OHno Type Co.

Thomas Jockin
Type Thursday
5 min readMar 19, 2016

--

Taking the big step of starting a type design foundry can be daunting. There is a lot to consider. TypeThursday checked in with James Edmondson of OHno Type Co. about starting his foundry one year ago.

TypeThursday: Something I know about you, James, is that you like to be chill. In fact, you’re so chill, you made a foundry about that called OHno Type. It’s been about a year since you started.

Rewards and Challenges in Starting a Foundry

Could you share with us what was challenging and most exciting thing about starting a foundry?

James Edmondson: Definitely the most exciting thing was releasing fonts, and the website. Having a deadline and executing on that was really hectic but fun. I totally soaked in that first week and I so appreciated all the support from my colleagues. That gave me enough steam to go on indefinitely. I had an idea in my mind of what I wanted to create and how I wanted it to be perceived, and it turned out to be taken in more or less how I intended. That was really lucky, and, like I said, I’m tremendously grateful for the support.

The hardest thing that I’m figuring out now is that the people that I want to buy fonts from me are not my colleagues at all. I have to figure out a way to appeal to graphic designers at large and anyone that uses type. I thought that by having a very specific niche, a sort of genre of display typefaces that were all within the same theme of very lively, organic things, I could build an audience that way. What I’m realizing now is that takes a lot of time. Nothing happens overnight. So I’ve been working on this maybe for a like a year and a half, with the foundry launching halfway through that. Everything is in its infancy right now. And I can see it going on indefinitely, and that’s what I strive for, having a career that I never want to quit. That would be ideal. I don’t know how I’m going to feel about it in ten or fifteen or twenty years or whatever, but in my mind right now, it seems like a great thing to work on and continually improve.

The “ideal” versus “reality” battle is something that’s always in my mind.

TT: So you’re saying that you had assumptions when you started the foundry and were surprised that they didn’t match up. Would you agree with that?

JE: Yes. The “ideal” versus “reality” battle is something that’s always in my mind. The ideal is that I’ll execute on the things that are most interesting to me and then people will buy them because I did a good job. The reality is most of the typefaces that people buy are things they’re used to looking at. And those things aren’t always the most fun for me. So finding a sort of balance between what I’m creating and having it be something that people will find consistently useful is what I’m trying to figure out now.

Hobeaux may not be the most comfortable for long-form reading, but I know it’s a useful thing that should exist in the world.

Hobeaux

TT: Hey, what are you talking about? Hobeaux can be used for everything!

JE: The thing is, I agree with that. Like, I’ll set a resume in Hobeaux, and I’m confident everyone can read it without really trying. It’s maybe not the most comfortable for long-form reading, but I know it’s a useful thing that should exist in the world. No one else was going to do it, so I have to be the one that executes on this simple idea. I still believe that to be true, that you should be working on the projects that you’re most interested in. Do the things that no one else will do, and only work on the stuff that you’re that passionate about.

But now I’m trying to figure out — Hey, did you bring me a piece of bacon? That’s my girlfriend. She just came in to bring me a piece [of bacon]. That’s love, dude.

TT: That is.

JE: Very kind of her. So anyways, I’m trying to find the stuff that I’m most passionate about that I will do better than anyone else, and hasn’t been done, and will be useful. That’s tricky.

TT: As someone who works independently as well, I believe the big question is: Are there going after problems that you chose to have or are those problems imposed onto you.

JE: It’s much more fun when they’re problems that you choose. And I think you’ll do a better job solving those problems if they’re things that you choose.

I’m open to many paths as long as they involve creating work that has a lot of life and emotion.

Next Steps for OHno Type

TT: What do you think is the game plan for OHno Type going forward?

JE: Honestly, it could go a lot of different routes. And I’m not dead-set on any one thing in particular. If it goes the route of more display faces, that would be great. If it turns out my audience is just a bunch of scrapbookers that are hobbyist graphic designers that need cute fonts for their treasured memories, I’m happy to do that too. Whatever! I’m open to many paths as long as they involve creating work that has a lot of life and emotion. In addition to the actual act of creating type, I really enjoy teaching. Lately, I’ve had the opportunity to do a bit more of that, and it’s very enjoyable, and challenging on many levels. So maybe I’ll be able to teach type or lettering one day a week, or maybe I’ll just do it through the OHno youtube channel. I’ve had a great number of mind blowing good teachers during college, and a bunch of people in the type scene that have just helped me out of genuine kindness. I’d like to be one of those people. In any case, I’m thrilled to be a member of this community, and my main focus is learning more, getting better, and having fun.

TT: James, thank you so much for your time. I really appreciate it.

JE: My pleasure, Thomas.

Want to learn more about chill fonts? Check it out OHnoType.

Love these interviews? Sign up to the TypeThursday mailing list to be the first to know about our next interview.

Was this article interesting to you? Click the Recommend button below

--

--

Thomas Jockin
Type Thursday

Fellow at Halkyon Thinkers Guild. Interested in the Beautiful.