Expo’98

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readMay 23, 2018

Yesterday it was the 20th birthday of the Expo’98 in Lisbon. It was all over the news. Twenty years ago, Lisbon was a different city. In particular, the place where the Expo’98 was set. In the two years before the Expo everyone was already talking about it. Outdoors, school visit tour to the place, merchandising, TV ads, etc.

Fortunately, I was there, due to luck we won three 3-day tickets on some frozen breaded fish. Otherwise, we wouldn’t go, it was too expensive for our wallets. I was 8 years old or so.

Now, looking back, I can see that maybe it was the start of Lisbon as we know it today, a modern city that embraces other cultures. Only for that, Expo’98 was already a great initiative.

For what I remember, those days (I’ve been there only for two days) were great, and it was like we were not in Lisbon. It was like a new village in Lisbon. It was full of people from everywhere. The architecture was so different from what we were used to, and everything was new. So much new technology was available. It was overwhelming.

My sister was 3 or 4 years old then, yesterday she was regretting not remember much of Expo’98. She would like to go back in time and enjoy those days with our actual age. Even I would like to do it again. I must resort to the online videos (they are a lot) and the photographs that we took with a disposable camera.

More information

May 23 | 365 Days of Writing Prompts | Bittersweet memories: You receive a gift that is bittersweet and makes you nostalgic. What is it?

--

--