The opposite of me

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2018

I am not fond of the idea of opposite attraction, one thing is the complement, another is the opposite.

Today’s 365 Days of Writing Prompts “challenge” is to write about the opposite of myself as in the DC Comics Bizarro World.

I am not fond of the idea of opposite attraction, one thing is to be the complement of myself, another is to be the opposite. The inverted version of myself would be someone that I would have difficult to deal with.

My opposite self would be someone total disconnected from reality, a person with no awareness. Someone that doesn’t observe the world around, with a lack of empathy. However, he would be a garrulous and spirited. Moreover, he would have lack of logic thought. The type of “don’t give a fuck” guy.

Nevertheless, as I also have defects, he would be more warm than myself. and less calculative than me.

This is a hard exercise as it seems the I am praising myself. It is easy to think of opposites as the opposite defects and virtues.

April 20 | 365 Days of Writing Prompts | The bizarro world: In the DC comics universe, a planet called “Htrae” (“Earth” spelled backwards) is populated with bizarre versions of superheroes. A Seinfeld episode made the idea of this Bizarro World popular, where the characters encountered their opposite selves. Craft a scene in which you meet an opposite version of yourself — or a story in a bizarre, backwards world.

--

--