Series: Patrick Melrose

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2018

I am watching Patrick Melrose a new tv series with Benedict Cumberbatch. In my opinion, it might be his best role so far. This series is adapted from the Edward St Aubyn’s Patrick Melrose book series. As far as I’ve read it semi-autobiographical, which makes the author one peculiar character. I am enjoying the series a lot. Thus I may read the books in a near future.

Patrick Melrose is an upper-class young-adult that is addicted to alcohol and heroin. He has a secretive and problematic past, due to his father (amazing Hugo Weaving performance). His father abused him and was sickly authoritative, which caused severe problems to his mother, which was an addict too.

The first episode is like a mix of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (craziness), Trainspotting (drama), Brett Easton Ellis books (characters and narrative), and Wes Anderson photography (colors and photography). With these ingredients, only good things can be expected.

The second episode was a “flashback” episode, although with a heavier ambiance there were several resemblances with Call me by your name (2017) scenario.

The third episode (the last one I’ve watched) was like a Brett Easton Ellis book on aristocracy.

On a first impression, this series may seem insipid. However, it is full of layers and details. It has a perfect balance of drama (the subject is child abuse and drugs) and comedy (i.e., clumsiness and irony of Cumberbatch). I love the sense of not knowing precisely the year of the storyline. Sometimes it seems like the 60’s and other times the 90’s.

Patrick Melrose maybe was the series I was waiting for, one-hour length, deep characters, solid storyline, great plot, and a great main character.

--

--