Street Photography

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2018

March 26 | 365 Days of Writing Prompts | Competition What activity, task, or game most brings out your competitive streak?

In the last five years, my main hobby is photography. Although I don’t do it as often I as did (and should) it is the most challenging hobby I have.

This photo was taken in Barcelona

Usually, I do street photography. For me, it is like a hunt. I go outside in the middle of people capturing the moments of their daily life. I try to be discrete and silent. Therefore I can capture people’s natural expression. I see this type of photography as a documentary of the anonymous people. Take it as it is, without building a scene with “actors”. Sometimes, the “hunting” is not so good, but that what I like the most. I don’t know what I will find a priori.

Photo taken in Bolhão’s Makert in Oporto

My favorites places to photograph are the Lisbon old downtown, Oporto and Barcelona. In Oporto, my favorite place is Bolhão old market, there is a lot of interesting people to photograph. People that deserve to be portrayed for eternity.

Photo taken in Bolhão’s Makert in Oporto

--

--