The zone

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readJun 5, 2018

One of the most important things that one should have is interests. If you don’t like to do anything you are dammed to boredom and lack of self-development to the rest of your life.

Why is this so important? First, it helps you to build yourself as a person with different skills, knowledge, etc. Second, it is one of the best ways to avoid stress and deal with work frustration.

The more you know, the more interest you become, then you become more self-confident. Moreover, if you have a “safe place” where you can do stuff that you like to do, that you are good to do, then you are enabling yourself to relieve from problems that are affecting you.

The more simple the activity is, the better because it should be something that you can do quickly, with no effort, don’t depend on money, or some particular place.

When I was more depressive and bored, I decided that I would need to take the command of myself. If you don’t control your time and what you do with your time we are no living your life. Back then I started to read a lot, watch a lot of movies, playing the guitar, etc. Later on, I started to enjoy cooking, drawing (again), learn about magic, psychology, etc.

Nowadays, the two most “relaxing” things I can do is cooking and driving. Unfortunately, I am not reading so much now, and I need to refocus my interests and learn to enjoy the time I spend reading (however, I know why I am not reading so much, that’s a good thing). I am watching fewer movies and watching more TV series, and I don’t like this change. However, it becomes more and more practical to watch a series episode every day than a movie. We are building the feeling of having less time to do things.

My advice to you is to find the thing that you enjoy the most, dedicate some time to them. Allow you to spend time doing it without feeling that you should be doing another stuff. As long as you are occupied with something that gives you joy, you are building yourself, relieving stress, and learning new stuff.

Jun 5| 365 Days of Writing Prompts | The zone: Tell us about your favorite way to get lost in a simple activity — running, chopping vegetables, folding laundry, whatever. What’s it like when you’re in “the zone”?

--

--