How cinema “saved” my life

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2018

Back in 2006, I was near a “depression” (quotes are essential), my girlfriend broke up with me, and I wasn’t able to put it together. I was lethargic, I had lost my path, and I was spending too much time looking at the walls. I was in a total emptiness. In the semester before, I had a class on social skills, time management, etc. It was out of the scope of the computer science curriculum, but it was mandatory. The course was ok, but back then no one taken the profit of it.

Nevertheless, the teacher was great. She was a psychologist and was very smart. I admire her very much, and she also liked me, so I was comfortable to speak to her. One day, on the beginning of the summer vacations I have sent her an email to ask for (psychological) help. In the email, I told her what was happening to me. She made an “appointment,” and we met in the faculty.

She was always kind of cold, but since I am also cold, I didn’t take it as insensitivity. Moreover, she didn’t act (at least directly) as a psychologist. I think she was keeping things professional, and it doesn’t matter for the topic either. She didn’t ask much, and now I believe that that type of problems was so typical that she knew already what she needed to help me.

Immediately she noticed that my main problem was time… I was empty. I didn’t have any goals. The most precious advise she gave, was to pay for the monthly cinema card — she had it already. Soon after, I made the card and went to the cinema. I remember that I was afraid of going out alone. Moreover, I never went to the movies alone. However, I remember arriving at the small mall (in Saldanha), buy the ticket and go the bar/restaurant near the cinema and drink a beer. Until today, I can feel the same sensation of freedom, it was the first day of a new beginning, of a new me.

For a year a spend a lot of time reading and going to the cinema. I’ve seen so many movies in that year. Sometimes I manage to watch three films in one day. The innocent advice was a life changer for me.

I’ve learned the importance of being alone and enjoying being alone. When you can enjoy the time alone with yourself, you learn a lot about you. This is so important to handle things in life. You become more independent, self-aware, and aware of the others’ problems. When you learn how to solve your problems, you can help the others too.

Of course, this advise might not work for everyone, but it did for me. For that I will be forever in debt with her, thank you Margarida César.

Photo by Erik Witsoe on Unsplash

May 18 | 365 Days of Writing Prompts | Helping hand: Tell us about the most surprising helping hand you’ve ever received.

--

--