Why do I blog (?)

Miguel Garcia
typewriter
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2018

I do like the idea of keeping this daily habit. It is the first thing I do when I arrive to work, it made me wake up earlier and more importantly it made me write faster.

My first post, that was deleted while ago, was about the reasons why I’ve started blogging. This is my second blog, more or less ten years ago I had a blog on blogger.com. Back then, I posted about books, cinema, and some short stories I’ve written. My goal was to be part of a community of Portuguese writers that exchange mostly read experiences on blogs.
I’ve already talked about this in another post, I was inspired by The Minimalist to have a blog to create a daily routine. I think that this blog was created some year or months before I actually decided what I would like to do it.

“A vintage analogue typewriter with a white plain paper” by Florian Klauer on Unsplash

The most challenging thing when you want to write, with no specific goal in mind, is to deal with a white sheet a start. Therefore, I went online to find some website that would list some daily writing challenges. Of course, there are a few sites with writing challenges. I’ve started with Write Daily, you subscribe their website, then for seven days, you receive an email with a writing challenge. I really liked their challenges, unfortunately, they only for seven days. You can pick from three types of writing, and it is well integrated with medium already.

After Write Daily, I’ve been some days without publishing, then I went to find another challenge. I’ve found a pdf file with writing prompts for a whole year (weekends included — which I skip, and use them to have a buffer if I want to change the subject of the day’s challenge).

Overall, I do like the idea of keeping this daily habit. It is the first thing I do when I arrive to work, it made me wake up earlier and more importantly it made me write faster. I feel that I am becoming more “fluent” when I need to start writing, which was one of the main difficulties I had. This is particularly good because I need to write my Ph.D. thesis soon.

Wrapping up, I started blogging because I wanted to improve my writing agility and quality. The best way to do that it to practice. Since I am not focused on writing some novel or whatever, my focus is to write, I don’t care about the topic. Therefore, I use external “ideas” to feed my purpose. However, I really enjoy some of the posts, besides improving my writing skills it helps me to think about stuff more clearer to be able to write.

April 17| 365 Days of Writing Prompts | Million-dollar question: Why do you blog?

--

--