Monday 11th October

Anna Michael
Typography Module
Published in
2 min readNov 7, 2021

Today I started to look at the grids I wanted to use. I looked at some from online and also had a go a drawing my own idea to see how it would look with the layout paper over a corner of it.

Grid Inspiration.

Below I did some quick sketches to get me started with the help of my tutor. We sketched out the designs of other publications and then tried to think how my publication design could use the grid. The grid also led me to think about my desired page size and shape.

I came to a decision that my grid was going to have six columns and five rows. I wanted only five rows so that nothing ever sat in the middle of the page because I find thats such an odd height for your eye to read at when it’s exactly halfway. I also decided that my publication size was going to be a lsightly more squared A4 page. SO it would Have the width of an A4 page but be slightly cropped to only 250mm instead of 297mm. This would make it easy to print and cut too.

My Final Page Size and Grid Design.

Today I also made the final decision on my typfaces. This was a big part of the publication as the main focus was the typography, not the imagery. I decided I wanted to use two contrasting typeface that still worked together in harmony. I wanted a more bold, modern, funky font and an older, more traditional, serif font. Below you can see the two I chose and my inspirations behind them.

--

--

Anna Michael
Typography Module
0 Followers
Editor for

A journal of my creative process and behind the scenes of my recent projects.