Thursday 7th October

Anna Michael
Typography Module
Published in
2 min readNov 7, 2021

Today I started to look into the different methods of binding and creating a book. I photographed other examples from a range of books in the studio and library. I printed the images and labelled how they could influence my publication. I was drawn to the idea of having more than just one type of paper in my publication to make it more tactile. Many people use tracing paper but I don’t like how flimsy it feels. I also had an idea of laser cutting some feature into the pages. This could link back to the original method of typography which was carved into stone and other materials. I would use the more modern method of cutting using a laser for more precision and neatness.

As shown above I had a try at printing on layout paper which is a slightly thicker version of tracing paper. I also tried cutting into it, playing around with its transparency too. I realised whilst cutting that it is too flimsy still to cut, but I did like the affect of looking through to words below. I also started to look at my colour scheme. I tried printing the alphabet in a few different colours to see how they would turn out printed, trying lighter and darker versions. Below you can see some images I used for colour inspiration.

Colour Scheme Inspiration from Pinterest.

--

--

Anna Michael
Typography Module
0 Followers
Editor for

A journal of my creative process and behind the scenes of my recent projects.