Grid Font: Analog to Digital

Tiamera Ellen
Typography II
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2019

I am so glad I can move my font into the digital sphere. I think the biggest draw back of drawing directly on the grid is how long it takes to do different variations of letters. Since I am using Illustrator, it is very easy to edit the squares on the grid and make different elements to letters.

In the picture below, is my progress of creating my font in Illustrator. I have some edits I will probably make, but until then I think this looks pretty good.

On the bottom with the b and the red overlay, I am attempting to shear the letter to see where it lays on the grid because maybe it will help me to create the italics. I am still struggling with them.

So remember how I made my font in Illustrator? Well my professor introduced us to FontStruct. Basically FontStruct allows you to actually download your font so you can type in programs with it. So once I got pretty far with my Illustrator file I begin to create letters in FontStruct.

This program is a little annoying to use at first because I had no idea what I was doing. I eventually got it and it was an advantage because I could type out my font.

Here (below) is what my font looks like so far with these fun pangrams. The section that is titled “with some edits” is with me playing around with the tracking of the letters. I am excited to see how these come out overall.

Until next time…

--

--