Grid Font: Final

Tiamera Ellen
Typography II
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2019

Drum roll please…

I have made it to the final iteration of my grid font. I mean there is probably room for improvement but for now I have gotten as far as I can.

But before I reveal my font, here is a little biography that I wrote about it:

Font name: Needlework

Think back to your childhood teddy bear. Today, it might be a little beat up, pieces sewn back together, but still one of your favorites. Needlework, this font, is that childhood teddy bear. It is a heart-warming and round typeface that is a little rough around the edges. Its rounded diamond-esq shapes sit nicely on a shelf of a longer paragraph with a size between 9–10 points. Inspired by the feelings of cuddling your childhood teddy bear and embroidered letters, this font is legible as a text font while having a little personality (perhaps that of a cute old lady).

Did you enjoy that? I hope so. It is to give a little idea about what I want my font to be all about.

Well here goes nothing I guess…

Presenting…..

Needlework

I have been through a lot with this project and I feel like it came out pretty good. I think my italics need work but I am honestly lost with them so we can just ignore that for now.

My regular font is much more solid as a system and I am looking forward to adapting the italics so they feel more complete too.

Until next time…

--

--