Grid Font: The Struggle of Italics

Tiamera Ellen
Typography II
Published in
1 min readMay 12, 2019

SOOOOOOOO, from the beginning I knew italics were not going to be my friend. I was indeed correct. I hate them and they hate me, it’s a bond. Unfortunately for my grade, I had to get over this hatred and figure something out. I honestly could not create italics that I liked.

Until late one night…

I kind of got somewhere. The picture below is that somewhere.

If you look at the comparison picture below, you could see how my regular font compares to its italic sibling. I made the bowls of my letters more narrow than the original and added serifs and things to be a little extra. I mean I think they look noticeably different, but I am unsure about how they stand as italics.

I shall keep wrestling with the italics until the final is due.

Until next time…

--

--