#IEW2019 Q&A with…Dalia Tarchila

Sherilyn Trompetter
UAlberta Arts Insider

--

International Education Week in the Faculty of Arts

Going Abroad with Dalia Tarchila

November 18–22 is International Education Week, which is celebrated in over 100 countries around the globe. During this week, we will be highlighting stories from students (and the Dean of Arts, Lesley Cormack!) who have gone abroad as part of their program in the Faculty of Arts.

All interviews conducted by Sherilyn Trompetter, Senior Officer International, Undergraduate Student Services, Faculty of Arts.

Meet Dalia Tarchila, a student in the BEd Secondary route program. Although she is a student from the Faculty of Education, she participated in a Faculty of Arts study abroad experience.

Hi Dalia! Where did you go and what did you do?

I went to La Rochelle, France. I did a one month study abroad where I lived with a host family and took French classes.

At what point in your academic program did you go?

I went at the end of my first year at U of A.

Why did you go?

I went because I’ve always wanted a study abroad experience and I wanted to enrich my French while being immersed in the culture.

What delighted you about your experience?

The people that I met in the program were great and the amazing host family I was paired with truly made my experience delightful!

How did the experience influence you?

I now want to travel and discover more study and/or work abroad opportunities.

What surprised you when you got back home?

I was surprised at how different my lifestyle at home was compared to while I was abroad. An example would be that in France I biked and walked everywhere which is something I really wanted to incorporate in my lifestyle once I came home instead of driving or busing relatively short distances.

What advice would you have for Arts undergrad students who are considering a study abroad option?

My advice would be to not think twice about it and to just do it because it will be unforgettable and it will shape your university experience for the better!

Check out our amazing Study Abroad programs here!

--

--