#IEW2019 Q&A with…Petros Kusmu

Sherilyn Trompetter
UAlberta Arts Insider
3 min readNov 19, 2019

--

International Education Week in the Faculty of Arts

November 18–22 is International Education Week, which is celebrated in over 100 countries around the globe. During this week, we will be highlighting stories from students (and the Dean of Arts, Lesley Cormack!) who have gone abroad as part of their program in the Faculty of Arts.

All interviews conducted by Sherilyn Trompetter, Senior Officer International, Undergraduate Student Services, Faculty of Arts.

Meet Petros Kusmu, ’12 BA(Hons) in Economics and Political Science

Hi Petros! Where did you go and what did you do?

Washington, D.C. to intern at the The Foundation on Economic Trends (with the author who coined the term “the fourth industrial revolution”).

At what point in your academic program did you go?

End of my third year (I took five years for my undergrad).

Why did you go?

I wanted to broaden my skillset and get some international work experience! Also, I was keen on trying out the applicability of my economics and political science degree.

What delighted you about your experience?

So much…here’s a list of some my highlights (that I wrote back in 2011):

  • Volunteered for President Obama’s 2012 Reelection Campaign;
  • Worked with Jeremy Rifkin and some of the best folks I’ve ever met at the Foundation on Economic Trends (I ended up being in the books’ “Acknowledgements” section which was neat);
  • Saw the Dalai Lama speak up close and personal;
  • Saw the legendary Doug E. Fresh and Talib Kweli perform;
  • Presented at a Conference on African economic and political integration;
  • Made a remarkable solo trip to New York City;
  • Reunited with some of my closest and best friends;
  • Made some of the best friends, and;
  • Earned a lifetime of experiences!

How did the experience influence you?

At the time, it helped me figure out what I was going to write for my thesis. Not to mention, it was also my first foray into political volunteering — which ended up being an invaluable experience and skillset that I used when I was involved in the Students’ Union but also in my past and current community organizing work. Also, it ultimately helped encourage me to pursue a Master’s degree, which led me to where I’m at today.

What surprised you when you got back home?

Going abroad always broadens your horizons. I remember coming back feeling really privileged for having that opportunity since you quickly realize that not everyone will have a shot like I did. Thank goodness for the experience being fully funded by the U of A and Government of Alberta!

What advice would you have for Arts undergrad students who are considering a study abroad option?

Take the leap of faith and do it if you can! It’ll help set you up for success once you’re in the job (post-graduation) and also give you a better sense of what it is that you’re actually interested in doing (and what it is you want to avoid). Not to mention, you’ll make a lifetime of memories and some of your best friends that way.

Check out our amazing Study Abroad programs here!

--

--