Perichora, Greece

#IEW2019 Q&A with…Sydney Oudekirk

Sherilyn Trompetter
UAlberta Arts Insider
3 min readNov 19, 2019

--

International Education Week in the Faculty of Arts

Going Abroad with Sydney Ouderkirk

November 18–22 is International Education Week, which is celebrated in over 100 countries around the globe. During this week, we will be highlighting stories from students (and the Dean of Arts, Lesley Cormack!) who have gone abroad as part of their program in the Faculty of Arts.

All interviews conducted by Sherilyn Trompetter, Senior Officer International, Undergraduate Student Services, Faculty of Arts.

Meet Sydney Ouderkirk, ’18 BSc, BA After-Degree in Classics and Anthropology.

Hi Sydney! Where did you go and what did you do?

I spent Winter 2015 in Cortona, Italy as well as three weeks in Narthaki, Greece for the CAPS archaeology field school this past summer. Before and after both trips I traveled on my own as well as with friends.

At what point in your academic program did you go?

I went to Cortona between the second and third year of my first degree. I went to Narthaki just before my last year in my after-degree.

Why did you go?

I love history and it has always been a dream of mine to travel Europe. I loved Cortona so much, I completed my BSc and then came back for a BA after-degree in classics and anthropology, and wanted to continue the experience of traveling abroad.

What delighted you about your experience?

I love the landscape; it changes everywhere you go but it is always so beautiful. And the transit — I love the transit in Europe. It is so easy to get around without a vehicle! I might miss a few things about home but it’s too easy to stay! Also, the food. I am such a picky eater but I never worried about getting enough to eat in Italy or Greece. The ingredients are so fresh compared to home!

How did the experience influence you?

Cortona made me really fall in love with traveling and made me want to go back. And traveling to Narthaki made me realize how much I enjoy hands-on and active work! I still talk to many of the people I traveled with and I even went to the field school with one of the friends I made in Cortona! I made friends for life!

What surprised you when you got back home?

How much of a shock it was to come home. You think it will just be culture shock while studying abroad but you usually get some or just as much when you come home.

What advice would you have for Arts undergrad students who are considering a study abroad option?

If you have the chance, GO. It will be one of the best things you’ll ever experience! Just keep in mind that something is going to go wrong on your trip, big or small, it will, but if you expect something to go wrong it won’t be so bad when it does! It’s okay if it pushes your graduation date back a semester or two; it will be worth it!

Check out our amazing Study Abroad programs here!

--

--