#IEW2019 with…Travis Erickson

Sherilyn Trompetter
UAlberta Arts Insider
2 min readNov 22, 2019

--

International Education Week in the Faculty of Arts

Going Abroad with Travis Erickson

November 18–22 is International Education Week, which is celebrated in over 100 countries around the globe. During this week, we will be highlighting stories from students (and the Dean of Arts, Lesley Cormack!) who have gone abroad as part of their program in the Faculty of Arts.

Meet Travis Erickson, student in the BDes in Art & Design program, also working towards a Certificate in Sustainability.

My name is Travis Erickson, and I spent my winter term reading week in my second year of university traveling through Europe with my classmates. We visited Amsterdam, Brussels, and London to understand how the design industry operated over there and tour multiple design studios. We also went to museums and experienced the local culture of the cities, my personal favorite was the energy of Amsterdam.

I had never been outside of North America and this trip was mainly inspired by my desire to do so before I graduated. The timing was perfect as I could go with my friends and also better immerse myself in Europe’s design world.

When I returned I was able to bring a new perspective into my design projects, including aesthetics and research approaches. I also had a new appreciation for transit (even in Edmonton) as it makes so much more sense in a busy city. After graduating I would like to move overseas to pursue a career in the design field.

I am incredibly grateful for the opportunity given to me as traveling can be a lot of work to plan especially while in school. My advice for any undergrad students considering going abroad, DO IT (especially if you can get credit for it)! There are also so many supports and grants you can apply for to help with the costs. Make sure you take full advantage of your university experience.

Check out our amazing Study Abroad programs here!

--

--