#IEW2020 Q&A with… Ashley Ezekpo

International Education Week in the Faculty of Arts

UAlberta Arts Insider
UAlberta Arts Insider
3 min readNov 20, 2020

--

EXP + Study Abroad: Going abroad with Ashley Ezekpo

November 16–20 is International Education Week, which is celebrated in over 100 countries around the globe. During this week, we will be highlighting stories from students and faculty who have gone abroad as part of their academic programs. As our borders currently remain closed due to the pandemic, we look forward to the time when we can travel and explore the world again. We present these stories as beacons of hope and a promise of better times to come.

All interviews conducted by Sherilyn Trompetter, Senior Officer International, Faculty of Arts, University of Alberta.

To close out the week, we meet Ashley Ezekpo, a recent BSc Psychology alum with a minor in French Literature and Language as reflects on her experience in France.

Hi Ashley! Where did you go and what did you do?

I went to La Rochelle in May 2016 to complete two French courses at L’Universite de la Rochelle. The courses were FREN 399 and 499.

Why did you go?

I took part in this study abroad because I love to travel, I love languages and I love new experiences. I knew I would have a life changing experience and adventure with this program.

What delighted you about your experience?

It would be unjustful to assign just one delightful experience because there were countless. I enjoyed living with my host family and going on their road trips. They treated me with love and respect and I learned a lot about my present medical career from my host father. I enjoyed the Puy du Fou medieval fair excursion that we took as a class, the bike tours, the beach visits, the late night adventures or trips to bordeaux and Paris with my classmates.

My favourite moments were picking different locations in La Rochelle to do my dance videos.

How did the experience influence you?

The most challenging part of the La Rochelle study group was also the most fulfilling part, which was where I was forced to speak French by being exposed to the civilians. This experience made me more versatile with my interpersonal skills, my cultural knowledge and my independence.

What surprised you when you came home?

When I got home I was surprised by how much my French had improved and my eating habits too. The French love their salads.

What advice do you have for Arts students who are considering a study abroad option?

My advice to you is you can not go wrong with the la Rochelle study tour, you will come back a happier person and you will have a story to tell for sure! Profitez-bien!

--

--

UAlberta Arts Insider
UAlberta Arts Insider

Stories from UAlberta Arts undergrad students, alumni, and staff.