#IEW2020 Q&A with… Rena Rioux

International Education Week in the Faculty of Arts

UAlberta Arts Insider
UAlberta Arts Insider
6 min readNov 18, 2020

--

EXP+ Study Abroad: Going abroad with Rena Rioux

November 16–20 is International Education Week, which is celebrated in over 100 countries around the globe. During this week, we will be highlighting stories from students and faculty who have gone abroad as part of their academic programs. As our borders currently remain closed due to the pandemic, we look forward to the time when we can travel and explore the world again. We present these stories as beacons of hope and a promise of better times to come.

All interviews conducted by Sherilyn Trompetter, Senior Officer International, Faculty of Arts, University of Alberta.

Next we meet Rena Rioux, a third year French and Spanish student in the Department of Modern Languages and Cultural Studies.

Hi Rena! Where did you go and what did you do?

I went to Granada, Spain to complete my minor in Spanish. It was a breathtaking, and enchanted experience that I recommend to everyone.

Why did you go?

Integration is the absolute-BEST way possible to learn a language. Being in the third year of my BA, I knew that I needed to practice my Spanish to gain the confidence that I was lacking. At the Centro de Lenguas Modernas, I got what I went for and then some!

What delighted you about your experience?

The city. It is locked away in the south of Spain, just between a beach and a mountain. Yes, you can take a dip in the sea and ski on the same day if you want. There is always time to enjoy flamenco culture as you can always hear someone singing in the streets. It is the last remaining city of the ancient Moors, thus filling the streets with hammams, Moroccan-style decor, keyhole doorways, and ancient Arabic palaces and architecture. I learned so much about what they brought to Europe (chess, high heels, nail polish and medicine). I was a stone’s throw from Morocco, incredible hiking areas, olive, orange, lemon, almond orchards and some of the richest history in Europe.

I feel it is important to mention that this is one of the safest cities I have ever been to. Even safer than Edmonton!

Day-to-day life is awesome, I would wake up each morning and run up the mountain into Carmen de los Martires, one of the most beautiful and enchanting gardens I have ever seen. I would then attend class at the CENTRO DE LENGUAS MODERNAS, located in an ancient building owned by the accredited University of Granada. After that, I studied on a terrace, in front of some ancient building (take your pick) where they served free tapas as soon as you sat down. Yes, you could eat for the cost of a beer (1 €). I attended a local yoga class on Tuesday evenings and joined a group of other Erasmus students, from all over the Spanish-speaking world, to a soccer scrimmage on Thursday evenings. It was incredibly easy to make friends and to be physically active there. Whenever I could, I would stop by “La Candela,” a local pub, where I had begun to make some amigos “Granaínos.”

How did the experience influence you?

As I am a mature student, and I had never imagined that it would have been open to me, but it was! Not only was it open to me, but it welcomed me with open arms. My only regret is that we got sent home early because of COVID. I had already learned so much in my short, three months there and can only imagine what I would have taken home after 6 months! The professors at the CLM were very accommodating. They went to great lengths to ensure that I got into the right classes (there was a bit of a mix-up with my level at first) and that I was learning what I needed to learn. The classrooms were fun and experiential and despite the pandemic, everyone was positive and encouraging.

I have remained influenced in my knowledge of the East, of certain aspects of Middle Eastern culture (I studied the history of Islam, art history and flamenco culture). I now see the influence of the Middle East in everything Western. In fact, I cannot un-see it! I can now speak to people in Spanish everywhere around me and have learned to love jamón (Spanish ham) more than I can logically explain to anyone (yes it must be Spanish). I have maintained my friendships with the locals with hopes that someday I will return to Granada (tierra soñada por mi).

What surprised you when you came home?

Coming home was not regular because of the pandemic, but the University of Alberta pulled through in miraculous ways, keeping me safe and sound. I never could have done it without our travel abroad office and so many of the people working around the clock to keep us safe. Reverse-culture shock was mild because the pandemic was louder, along with my gratitude to be able to be with my loved ones through such a strange time. Although, I was sad to leave my friends, and it was sad to go to the grocery store and not be able to speak Spanish with people, I guess it means that I had a good time right?!

What advice do you have for other Arts undergraduate students who are considering a study abroad option?

Firstly, The CLM is offering online courses to those who need extra language classes. They are even offering online master’s programs! Check out this link for remote study opportunities, I had absolutely no issues with transfer credit.

The biggest piece of advice I have for other students considering a semester abroad, is to ask, ask, ask!!!

  • I never imagined how easy it would be to study abroad during my degree, and so had nearly written it off. But I was SO wrong! It was very simple and easy to work out the details. The University of Alberta has heaps of help and they have answers to all the questions that you might have.
  • Finances will become available. I was shocked at how much of the semester I managed to get paid for (even with exchange rates), so don’t let financial doubt keep you from having an incredible experience, ask the U of A for tips and tricks, and take your time in planning, as it is part of the experience.
  • Leave plenty of time to acquire your visa. You DO have to mail your passport to Ottawa, and they are not exactly punctual in returning it to you. (It is safe don’t worry).

Thank you again staff and faculty at the University of Alberta for all of your help in suggesting, organising, and supporting me through this journey. Muchas gracias al personal y la facultad del CLM en Granada. Llevaré esta experiencia conmigo para siempre.

--

--

UAlberta Arts Insider
UAlberta Arts Insider

Stories from UAlberta Arts undergrad students, alumni, and staff.