What Black History Month Means to Me

UAlberta Arts Insider
UAlberta Arts Insider
5 min readFeb 5, 2021

Every February, we are reminded of the accomplishments of Black persons in Canada, North America, and really the world. But why is it important? Is it only because of the oppression endured by Black persons? Is it to raise awareness of past injustices? Or is it only to celebrate past accomplishments? To me, the answer wasn’t always the clearest and it took some reflection to find out what Black History Month really means to me.

Nathaniel in grade 8.

Being born and raised in Edmonton, from parents who immigrated from a little country in East Africa called Eritrea, I’ve had a unique relationship with Black History Month. When I was younger, I saw myself as a Black person “from Edmonton”, but not having ancestral roots in Canada made celebrating Black History Month hard. I felt the expectations to celebrate something that really didn’t belong to me — these aren’t my ancestors so why should I feel inclined as a member of the African Diaspora to celebrate Black ancestors who aren’t mine? Also, in my school, Black History Month was a time to remember slavery and the civil rights movements only. There was only the American context and because a significant majority of Black persons in Canada have immigrated within the last generation or two I never really understood why we even needed to celebrate. I only knew slavery to have existed in America, and it was solely through my own research that I found out that slavery did occur in Canada as well. And just like slavery, Black Canadian experiences and accomplishments aren’t taught nor celebrated as much as they should be. This is one of many reasons why Black History Month is important to me; to celebrate and raise awareness of the contributions made by Black Canadians to Canada’s legacy, past and present, while remembering the struggles endured.

I’m inspired by many Black Canadians, such as Willie O’Ree, the first Black player in the National Hockey League who made his debut appearance with the Boston Bruins in the 1957–58 season. Being the only Black player in an all white space in the 1950s, his existence in the league was defiant. I’m inspired by Richard Pierpoint who was sold into slavery at 16 and was later freed during the American Revolution. After he settled in Upper Canada he petitioned for the formation of an all-Black militia that would fight with the British during the War of 1812. I’m inspired by the infamous Viola Davis Desmond who was at the centre of one of Nova Scotia’s most controversial episodes. She refused to sit in the balcony of the Roseland Theatre in New Glasgow, N.S. and instead sat on the floor level, which was reserved exclusively for white people. She was arrested and found guilty of not paying the full tax on a floor-seat ticket. She was jailed and fined. Viola Davis Desmond’s image now graces our $10 bill — she is both the first Canadian woman and first Black person, to appear on Canadian currency. It’s not just the accomplishments of O’Ree, Pierpoint, Desmond, and the countless other Black persons, that are worth celebrating. It’s the defiant act of their existence and place in society in addition to their accomplishments that are worth celebrating. They are an inspiration to all Canadians.

Source: ESRI Canada

For me, Black History Month goes beyond remembering and recognizing the ones that have come before us. It’s also creating space for Black history to be made today and paving the way so Black history can continue to be made tomorrow. In continuing my reflection, I asked myself what more Black history needs to be made? We’re in 2021 so surely there can’t be much more? Then I remembered that the Black Students’ Association on our campus was founded only in 2018, that’s not even three full years ago. Canada has not seen a Black Prime Minister or Premier. I also thought back to my Community Service-Learning (CSL) experience with Sinkunia Community Development Organization. My time with this organization started in 2017 and their mission is to support “the successful settlement and integration of immigrant and refugee children, youth and families, so they can thrive in their new communities in Canada”. My whole experience there was empowering African youth to be all that they can be in this country. I shared the tools and resources they needed to help get them wherever it is they wanted to go while educating them on some of the obstacles they’ll encounter along the way. Quoting one of my reflection papers from this CSL experience, “Educating the youth on the importance of multiculturalism in Canada and emphasizing that in their case, being different can be made to their advantage.” I also thought about my friends, who are young Black entrepreneurs making positive impacts in their communities. Black History is being made today and will continue to be made tomorrow.

I had mentioned earlier that I didn’t feel a close tie to Black History Month because I had no roots here in Canada, but that has changed completely. It took me a while, but I finally realized that just because I don’t have roots in Black history, it doesn’t mean I’m not creating Black history today and paving the way for Black history to be made tomorrow. It also doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t admire the accomplishments of other Black persons just because it wasn’t my ancestry. Their legacies are rooted in Canadian history and as a Canadian, I should celebrate and be proud of their accomplishments through triumph. Black History Month to me is about Black excellence and the perseverance through marginalization for past, present, and future Black persons here in Canada.

Author bio: Nathaniel Haile is BA student pursuing a double major in Political Science and Economics with a double minor in International Studies and Philosophy and is currently on an AWE placement working for the Faculty of Arts as the Student Recruitment, Engagement & Communications Intern.

* Disclaimer: These are my true experiences and feelings toward Black History Month and, although I might not be alone in my thoughts, experiences, and opinions, I can only speak for myself.

--

--

UAlberta Arts Insider
UAlberta Arts Insider

Stories from UAlberta Arts undergrad students, alumni, and staff.