Hey Arts student — you’ll find a job!

Shannon Coyne
UAlberta Arts Insider
4 min readMay 17, 2019

In 2018 I graduated from the Faculty of Arts and couple of months later landed my first “real job”.

Now that I’m almost a year in, I’ve been thinking about the perception that Arts grads “don’t get jobs”… even though we know that’s not true!

This is me getting my work photo taken by AWE Intern Madisen Gee!

Arts grads work in writing, editing, publishing, banking, finance, communications, marketing, policy analysis, and other roles in the public, private, and public sectors. Arts grads are entrepreneurs, professionals, artists, CEOs, lawyers, and doctors.

So why is there so much doubt surrounding the value of a liberal Arts degree?

While I was an Arts student, I was questioned about my choice of degree. I was pursuing a field I loved, but I internalized this doubt.

I believed I wasn’t employable, because I constantly heard it from people around me — even from other Arts students!

A semester studying abroad changed this. I proved to myself that I was capable of more than passively sitting in a classroom. I got involved on campus with extracurricular and leadership activities, and pursued professional development opportunities that I once hadn’t considered.

On a whim, I reached out to someone in my field of interest. She mentored and inspired me to get more out of my degree. Their success story reassured me that I could do it too.

I applied for a part-time job with the UAlberta Career Centre in the final year of my degree. As a Career Peer Educator, I realized that across disciplines, many students don’t believe they are skilled.

Assisting students with their resume and cover letters actually meant helping them identify their skills. With every term paper and essay, you improve your writing and research skills; every presentation, you increase your confidence and experience in public speaking; every finals season, you manage deadlines, multiple priorities, and stress.

By encouraging fellow students to appreciate their skills I started to do that for myself! I learned the combination of my educational, professional, and extracurricular experiences makes me an asset to an organization, despite being a new grad.

Yes, Arts isn’t a vocational degree, but it’s still preparing you for work.

In fact, it’s preparing you for many different possible jobs and careers. Careers you may not know you’ll be interested in or jobs that don’t yet exist.

Within a few months of my last exam I had applied at three organizations, got two interviews and accepted a job offer.

Now here I am, a Student Recruiter for the Faculty of Arts. I research and write reports and articles (like this one). I give presentations and interact with the public. I test and evaluate ideas for the Faculty’s social media. I attend meetings, brainstorm new projects, and collaborate to plan events. I developed these skills in my degree, but now apply them in my job.

But what can you actually do right now to get a job as an Arts grad?

  1. Hear the haters, but don’t listen to them. Don’t let the misconceptions of others stop you from pursuing what you enjoy — even if you don’t have a specific “job title” in mind. Recognize your own skills, and ignore self doubt.
  2. Invest in your passions. Invest your time, both in the classroom and out of it, into your genuine interests. Your passions will stand out in an interview. And remember, your extracurricular activities are a part of your education.
  3. Design your degree. Arts is highly customizable, so you can pursue a certificate, undergraduate research, studying abroad, and work experience all in your undergrad. Say yes to new opportunities and own your degree.
  4. Don’t sell yourself short. Assess your strengths and weaknesses. What were you scared of, intimidated by, or bad at in your first year? How has that changed? Any improvement demonstrates skills enhanced! Sometimes it feels so natural that you don’t notice it, but it’s happening. Believe in yourself and what you’ve already accomplished.

Have questions about how to customize your degree? Talk to an advisor in the Arts USS (Undergraduate Student Services) Office! The USS Office now offers pre-booked, one-on-one advising sessions. Book your appointment online here.

Need career help? Contact the Arts Career Centre for resume/cover letter or LinkedIn review, mock interview, or career advising appointments. Don’t forget to ask them about AWE (Arts Work Experience).

Other helpful links:

Majors/Minors |Certificates |Study Abroad |Faculty of Arts Undergraduate Student Services

--

--

Shannon Coyne
UAlberta Arts Insider

Career Services Advisor | BA ’18 Political Science & German Language and Literature