Canada 150 Experts

From the constitution to concussions, we’ve got the Canada 150 experts you can count on.

*Note* Experts will continue to be added throughout the year. If you are a faculty member looking to be added, please contact your faculty communicator.

Addiction/Mental Health
Cam Wild, Professor, School of Public Health
cam.wild@ualberta.ca; 780–492–6752

Air Quality
Warren Kindzierski, Associate Professor, School of Public Health
warren.kindzierski@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0382

Canadian Book History/Early Canadian Women Writers
Linda Quirk, Librarian, Bruce Peel Special Collections
linda.quirk@ualberta.ca; 780–492–7928

Canadian Cinema
Liz Czach, Professor, Faculty of Arts
liz.czach@ualberta.ca

Canadian Constitution
Patricia Paradis, Executive Director, Centre for Constitutional Studies
pparadis@ualberta.ca

Canadian Constitutional Law
Eric Adams, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law
eric.adams@ualberta.ca; 780–248–1516
Twitter: @ericadams99

Canadian Cultural Studies/Canadian Literature
Janice Williamson, Professor, Faculty of Arts
janice.williamson@ualberta.ca

Canadian Federalism/EU Relations
Lori Thorlakson, Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts
thorlaks@ualberta.ca; 780-492-2282

Canadian Feminism/Citizenship Law
Lois Harder, Professor, Faculty of Arts
lois.harder@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0533

Canadian History
Daniel Sims, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Augustana
dcsims@ualberta.ca; 780–679–1153

Canadian History (Western, Settler Colonialism)
Sarah Carter, Professor, Faculty of Arts/Native Studies
sarah.carter@ualberta.ca; 780-492-4686

Canadian History (Métis, Louis Riel, Settler Colonialism)
Nathalie Kermoal, Professor, Faculty of Native Studies
nkermoal@ualberta.ca; 780–492–7207

Canadian History (History of Treaties, Fur Trade, Indian Act, Land Claims, Self-government, Plains First Nations culture, Indigenous Veterans)
James Dempsey, Associate Professor, Faculty of Native Studies
james.dempsey@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0528

Canadian History/Art/Literature (Early, Arctic, National Parks)
Ian MacLaren, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Arts
ian.maclaren@ualberta.ca; 438-385-9318

Canadian History (Métis, Louis Riel, Fur Trade)
Gerhard Ens, Professor, Faculty of Arts
gens@ualberta.ca; 780–492–6383

Canadian Idioms and Language
John Considine, Professor, Faculty of Arts
john.considine@ualberta.ca

Canadian Legal History
James Muir, Associate Professor, Faculty of Law/Arts
jmuir1@ualberta.ca; 780–492–5538

Canadian Literature/Nonfiction/Popular Culture
Julie Rak, Professor, Faculty of Arts
julie.rak@ualberta.ca; 780–492–4639

Canadian Literature (19th Century)
Sarah Krotz, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Arts
krotz@ualberta.ca

Canadian Poetry/Women’s Writing
Christine Wiesenthal, Professor, Faculty of Arts
christine.wiesenthal@ualberta.ca

Canadian Politics
The Right Honourable Kim Campbell, Principal, Peter Lougheed Leadership College
diana.hrynchuk@ualberta.ca

Cancer/Ovarian Cancer/Brain Tumours
Faith Davis, Professor, School of Public Health
faith.davis@ualberta.ca; 780–492–1312

Childhood Obesity/School Health
Paul Veugelers, Professor, School of Public Health
paul.veugelers@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9095

Chronic Disease Prevention/Diabetes
Dean Eurich, Professor, School of Public Health
deurich@ualberta.ca; 780–492–6333

Chronic Disease Prevention/Health Promotion
Candace Nykiforuk, Associate Professor, School of Public Health
candace.nykiforuk@ualberta.ca; 780–492–4109

Climate Change (Impact, Adaptation)
Debra Davidson, Professor, Faculty of Agricultural, Life, and Environmental Sciences
debra.davidson@ualberta.ca; 780–492–4598

Communities and Wildlife Health
Brenda Parlee, Professor, Faculty of Agricultural, Life, and Environmental Sciences
brenda.parlee@ualberta.ca; 780–492–6825

Community Health/Nutrition/Obesity
Kim Raine, Professor, School of Public Health
kim.raine@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9415

Drug and Alcohol Policy/Harm Reduction/Safe Injection Services
Elaine Hyshka, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
elaine.hyshka@ualberta.ca; 780–492–8753

Elder Care
Carole Estabrooks, Professor, Faculty of Nursing
carole.estabrooks@ualberta.ca; 780–492–3451

Environmental Conservation and Ecotourism
Glen Hvenegaard, Professor, Faculty of Augustana glen.hvenegaard@ualberta.ca; 780–679–1574

Environmental Health/Immunology/Infectious Diseases
Patrick Hanington, Assistant Professor; School of Public Health
pch1@ualberta.ca; 780–492–5210

Environmental Health (Vulnerable Populations)
Shelby Yamamoto, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
shelby.yamamoto@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0331

Environmental Law/Law of the Sea
Cameron Jefferies, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law
cameronj@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9059

Environmental Monitoring
Bernadette Quemerais, Associate Professor, School of Public Health
bernadette.quemerais@ualberta.ca; 780–492–3240

Food Safety
Byeonghwa Jeon, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
bjeon@ualberta.ca; 780–492–4307

Food Safety
Simon Otto, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
simon.otto@ualberta.ca; 780–248–1865

Forest Fires
Mike Flannigan, Professor, Faculty of Agricultural, Life, and Environmental Sciences; Director, Western Partnership for Wildland Fire Science
mike.flannigan@ualberta.ca; 780 248–2033
Twitter: @westernpartners

Gender/Sexuality/Law/Sexual Assault
Lise Gotell, Professor, Faculty of Arts
lise.gotell@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0326
Twitter: @lisegot

Health and the Environment/Water
Norm Neumann, Professor, School of Public Health
nfneuman@ualberta.ca; 780–492–8502

Health Care Policy/Indigenous Health/Women’s Health
Stephanie Monetsanti, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
montesan@ualberta.ca, 780–492–6013

Health Economics/Diabetes/Chronic Disease Prevention 
Jeff Johnson, Professor, School of Public Health
jeff.johnson@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9266

Health Economics
Arto Ohinmaa, Professor, School of Public Health
arto.ohinmaa@ualberta.ca; 780–492–6535

Health Economics
Mike Paulden, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
paulden@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9221

Health Law and Human Rights (Indigenous, Immigrant, Women’s)
Irehobhude O. Iyioha, Visiting Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law
iyioha@ualberta.ca; 780–716–3707

Health Law and Policy/Bioethics
Tania Bubela, Professor, School of Public Health
tania.bubela@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9335

Health Promotion/Cancer Prevention
Katerina Maximova, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
katerina.maximova@ualberta.ca; 780–248–2076

Health Promotion (School and community-based)
Kate Storey, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
kate.storey@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9609

Homelessness
Solina Richter, Professor, Faculty of Nursing
solina.richter@ualberta.ca; 780–492–7953

Immigrant Health
Bukola Oladunni Salami, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Nursing
Bukola.Salami@ualberta.ca; 780–248–1801

Immunization/Vaccinations
Shannon MacDonald, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Nursing
smacdon@ualberta.ca; 780–248–1563

Infectious Disease
Stephanie Yanow, Associate Professor, School of Public Health
yanow@ualberta.ca; 780–248–1018

Indigenous Games/Play/Physical Activity
Mary Ann Rintoul, Director, Play Around the World
mrintoul@ualberta.ca

Indigenous Health
Sangita Sharma, Professor, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
gita.sharma@ualberta.ca; 780–492–3214

Indigenous Health (Arctic Regions)
Kue Young, Professor and Dean, School of Public Health
kue.young@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9981

Indigenous Law
Hadley Friedland, Visiting Assistant Professor, Faculty of Law
hadley.friedland@ualberta.ca; 780–492–7417

Indigenous Literature
Christopher Bracken, Professor, Faculty of Arts
chris.bracken@ualberta.ca

Indigenous/Northern Research
Cindy Jardine, Professor, School of Public Health
cindy.jardine@ualberta.ca; 780–492–2626

Indigenous Sexualities & Gender
Tracy Bear, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Arts/Native Studies
tracybear@ualberta.ca

Injury Prevention
Louis Hugo Francescutti, Professor, School of Public Health
louis.francescutti@ualberta.ca; 780–492–5775

Injury Prevention
Don Voaklander, Professor, School of Public Health
don.voaklander@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0454

LGBTQ/Diversity/Human Rights
André P. Grace, Professor, Faculty of Education, Director of iSMSS
andre.grace@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0767

Kristopher Wells, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education, Faculty Director of iSMSS
kris.wells@ualberta.ca; 780–492–9908
Twitter: @KristopherWells

Literature (Mountaineering)
Stephen Slemon, Professor, Faculty of Arts
stephen.slemon@ualberta.ca

Métis Identity/Canadian Archeology
Kisha Supernant, Associate Professor, Faculty of Arts
kisha.supernant@ualberta.ca; 780–492–7345

Métis Politics, History and Identity
Chris Andersen, Professor and Dean (Interim), Faculty of Native Studies, Director, Rupertsland Centre for Métis Research
cta1@ualberta.ca

Mountains (Rocky and Columbian)
Zac Robinson, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
zac.robinson@ualberta.ca; 780-492-8912
Twitter: @zacrobinson_

Olympics/Female Athletes/Concussions
Constance Lebrun, Professor, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry
connie.lebrun@ualberta.ca; 780–492–1033

Outdoor Recreation/Recreation on Crown Lands
Howie Harshaw, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
harshaw@ualberta.ca; 780-492-6821

Palliative/End of Life Care
Wendy Duggleby, Professor, Faculty of Nursing
wendy.duggleby@ualberta.ca; 780–492–8660

Polar Bears/Climate Change
Andrew Derocher, Professor, Faculty of Science
derocher@ualberta.ca; 780–492–5570
Twitter: @AEDerocher

Physical Activity and Pregnancy (Canadian Guidelines)
Margie Davenport, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
margie.davenport@ualberta.ca; 780-492-0642

Physical Activity and Sedentary Behaviour/ParticipACTION
John Spence, Professor, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
jc.spence@ualberta.ca; 780-492-1379

Popular Music
Alexander Carpenter, Associate Professor, Faculty of Augustana
acarpent@ualberta.ca; 780–679–1571

Public Opinion/Polling
Gillian Stevens, Professor, Faculty of Arts; Executive Director, Population Research Lab
gillian.stevens@ualberta.ca; 780–492–4377

Quality of Life Care
Anita Molzahn, Professor and Dean, Faculty of Nursing
anita.molzahn@ualberta.ca; 780–492–3029

Social Studies Education (Canadian History, Teaching Canada’s 150th)
Lindsay Gibson, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Education
lgibson@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0545
Twitter: @ls_gibson

Sport & Activity (Child/Adolescent/Parenting)
Nicholas Holt, Professor, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation nick.holt@ualberta.ca; 780-492-7386
Twitter: @pydsportnet

Sports-Related Injuries/Concussions
Terry Defreitas, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine; Director, Glen Sather Sports Medicine Clinic
tld1@ualberta.ca; 780–407–5160

Tourism
Elizabeth Halpenny, Associate Professor, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation
elizabeth.halpenny@ualberta; 780-492-5702
Twitter: @ehalpenny

Urban Planning
Sandeep Agrawal, Professor, Faculty of Science
sagrawal@ualberta.ca

Water Law/Energy Law
David Percy, Professor, Faculty of Law
dpercy@ualberta.ca

Water Safety
Nicholas Ashbolt, Professor, School of Public Health
ashbolt@ualberta.ca; 780–492–5227

Wildlife Conservation
Mark Boyce, Professor, Faculty of Science
boyce@ualberta.ca; 780–492–0081
Twitter: @24beavers

One clap, two clap, three clap, forty?

By clapping more or less, you can signal to us which stories really stand out.