Helpful Habits for Remote Learning from a UCB SWE Alum

Hello SWE!

UC Berkeley Society of Women Engineers
UC Berkeley SWE
4 min readAug 13, 2020

--

Haruka Ichikawa
Haruka Ichikawa Civil Engineering ‘20

Can you believe the new semester starts in just two weeks? This upcoming semester is probably very different from what you envisioned. Especially if you are a new student at UC Berkeley, you may be worried about adjusting to classes, meeting new people, or starting a new chapter of your life all while being at home. I’m in the same boat — I’m starting my master’s program this fall and I’ve been worried, too. But, at times like this, I believe it’s important to focus on the things that we can control. I wanted to share some tips I picked up during my time at Berkeley and the past months of quarantine to hopefully help ease your transition into college and remote learning!

1. Have a morning routine

When remote learning first started in the spring semester, I was so excited about not having to walk up the hill to the engineering buildings on campus. Admittedly, on some days, I would roll out of my bed and immediately start working or watching a lecture. After doing that for a little bit, though, I realized that I didn’t really feel awake and prepared to do my schoolwork. Since then, I’ve been making a conscious effort to maintain a morning routine. I usually do my morning skincare routine, make myself breakfast and a cup of tea, and water my basil plant (her name is Jordan) before I start working for the day. Finding a morning routine for yourself can make you feel nourished and ready for the day!

My basil plant Jordan

2. Attend lectures live (if you can)

Why is it that a recorded lecture always feels longer than one that’s real-time? If you live in a time zone where you can attend lectures real-time, I would recommend doing so. You can ask questions in class and there is no need to play catch-up later. If you can’t attend live lectures, it would be good to watch the recording as soon as it comes out, so you’re not scrambling to catch up on weeks worth of material later. The recordings are always there as a resource, if you missed something during lecture or need to brush up on a topic!

3. Office hours and tutoring are great resources

All professors and graduate student instructors (GSIs) will have office hours, which is time dedicated for students to ask them questions. Halfway into my first semester I started going to my chemistry GSI’s office hours every week, which really helped me understand the subject more and even perform better on exams! There are also tutoring services by students who have taken the courses at the Student Learning Center (most introductory courses) and the Center for Access to Engineering Excellence (math/science/engineering courses). I’ve found that simply asking questions can help save potentially hours worth of working on your own.

4. Take breaks to do other activities

If I try to keep working for hours with no break, I end up being less productive and exhausted. While we were taking classes on campus, the walks between my classes were my natural breaks. While working from the same place all day, I learned that I have to be intentional about taking breaks and moving my body. If I don’t have the time during the work day to take a walk outside, I try to do a few sets of squats and push-ups. I also enjoy cooking a meal for myself. One thing I’m still trying to work on is reducing my screen time…

5. Make friends!

This one might seem difficult to do with remote learning, but keep in mind everyone else is also at home, hoping to make some college friends :) A good first step is to attend Golden Bear Orientation, where you can meet other new students in your orientation group. Joining SWE is also a great way to meet people in engineering majors! Many new engineering students take similar introductory courses, so you can meet people who are taking the same classes as you. SWE will host many virtual events during the semester. For now, you can stay connected with SWE on the SWE Slack, Facebook page, and Facebook group.

Zoe Husted, Amanda Guan, Haruka Ichikawa, Megan Handley, Malvika Singhal, Veena Narashiman

SWE has given me an invaluable community!

Last but not least, I wish all of you the best of luck this semester!! As always, go bears :)

Haruka Ichikawa

UC Berkeley SWE 2019–2020 President

--

--

UC Berkeley Society of Women Engineers
UC Berkeley SWE

The UC Berkeley SWE section supports students through professional development, social events and outreach to young women interested in the STEM field.