Clarity, Trust and Transparency — Aditi’s 3 mottos for leaders

UC Blogger
Urban Company – Culture
5 min readApr 24, 2023

Meet Aditi Gupta, Senior Manager in the Skin Clinic Category at Urban Company.

Aditi joined Urban Company a little more than 4 years ago in January 2019, and is currently leading the Operations and Quality for Skin Clinic.

Similar to her nature of work, Aditi is always on the lookout for her next adventure. She loves to trek through the woods and hike up the mountains in her free time. Watching sitcoms and TV shows is her second favorite thing to do, claims Aditi!

Read on to find how Aditi leads and motivates her team.

Aditi Gupta, Senior Manager at Urban Company

What was your journey to joining Urban Company, and how have you grown since joining?

I had the opportunity to work at UC as an intern, back in 2017. It was then that I decided to return here full-time to work in the future.

After graduating from college, I joined a startup and spent a year working in the sales sector. I started out as a sales associate and was subsequently promoted to sales manager. Over there, I learned sales, client relations, communication skills, and problem-solving during my one-year tenure, which later assisted me in leading a team. I was able to develop my decision-making and people-management skills, thanks to this adventure.

As much as I loved my previous job. I’d always wanted to work at UC. I finally had the chance to do so in 2019. I joined UC’s Delhi City team as a Business Development Associate.

My prior internship experience made it easier for me to adjust to UC’s culture and working environment. My first experiences at UC mostly consisted of onboarding and ensuring city operations worked smoothly.

Over the past four years, I have worked in numerous teams at UC and have experienced every aspect of the beauty vertical, including massage, spa, and salon. This exposed me to working with various teams and offered me the experience to create processes, lead large teams, and problem-solving. Leaders began trusting me with more challenging problem statements and directives after that point.

I take pride in the kind of managers I have had the opportunity to work with over the years who supported and encouraged me to develop into the best version of myself both professionally and personally. We have built various processes from the group up and created standardized ways to achieve targets, over the years.

From BDA to Senior Manager, I eventually transitioned into a leader at UC. I always try to give back to my team members everything I’ve learnt from my leaders to help my team flourish.

Aditi, along with her team, at a partner meet in Mumbai, in July 2022

What is something unique about your team here?

My team is made up of fantastic people who are all committed to learning and development. Everyone contributes their point of view, their unique set of skills, and personal objectives.

The fact that everyone is constantly willing to step up, assist one another, work and triumph as a team, is what makes me the happiest.

Not only is everyone sharp, but my team is also totally motivated and enthusiastic about taking on new tasks and responsibilities. Almost everyone I’ve worked with so far has been on a purpose that differed from person to person and wasn’t just about monetary gains.

Aditi along with her team, at a team dinner, February 2023

What is the most common challenge that managers face while leading teams?

Most managers are paranoid regarding the professional development of the team members. Ensuring on-time check-ins and establishing a fruitful feedback loop are natural results.

As mentors, it is our responsibility to make sure that the team member has adequate room to grow, learn, and make errors. It is crucial to make sure that a mentee’s expectations are appropriately set, that they have enough leeway to warm up, and that they are comfortable with the challenge in order for them to perform well.

It would be more difficult for the mentees to achieve their goals with UC if their growth paths do not have enough depth. Lack of precision in the team’s strategy will result in hazy team execution.

I’ve observed that once a team member is aware of their growth trajectory and how it fits into UC’s growth, their performance and overall team health improve.

What’s your personal mantra, and where did it come from?

Clarity, Trust and Transparency will take you a long way.

I firmly believe that team members should be trusted and given enough room and flexibility to plan and carry out their tasks without their manager interfering a lot.

I’ve always believed that being transparent about all areas of goal-setting, improvement feedback, and growth trajectory promotes team members’ long-term confidence and trust.

In order to let the other person see this in all its genuinity and increase clarity in their work, I prefer to function with a compassionate spirit prominently shown. This involves creating more lines of communication, listening to and carefully explaining other points of view, and respecting everyone’s opinion.

A team off-site picture from Manali in November 2022

What is a piece of advice you give to new managers at Urban Company?

Know and understand every team member’s desires and factors that drive them.

Invest in each and every team member, regardless of variations in personalities or skill sets.

This brings together the team in the pursuit of a unified aim, which occasionally encourages step back discussions and can provide you with far greater clarity on your primary goals than you might anticipate.

Keep broadening your horizons, and schedule time to pause, reflect, and make plans. It is simple to get caught up in the action and hectic schedules while pursuing short-term goals. But it’s crucial to spend a lot of time thinking carefully if you want to keep getting better and progress.

Sounds like fun?
If you enjoyed this blog post, please clap 👏(as many times as you like) and follow us (@UC Blogger) . Help us build a community by sharing on your favourite social networks (Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, etc.).

You can read up more about us on our publications —
https://medium.com/uc-design
https://medium.com/uc-engineering
https://medium.com/uc-culture

If you are interested in finding out about opportunities, visit us at http://careers.urbancompany.com

--

--

UC Blogger
Urban Company – Culture

The author of stories from inside Urban Company (owner of Engineering, Design & Culture blogs)