#JustLikeFamily

UrbanClap
Urban Company – Culture
3 min readSep 16, 2016

UC has launched it’s TV campaign with a hashtag #JustLIkeFamily. Honestly, it didn’t take me more than a second to relate to it. I am not saying this because I am writing this blog entry, I am writing this because I should share my experience !

I can’t give the credit or say that one moment is responsible for this feeling,
I think its the journey ! My interview here was not easy at all, thanks to Sarvesh. I remember that he was so disappointed with my resume that he forgot about the interview and started giving me tips on how to write a good one ! I have met super awesome people in tech and have learnt a lot from them. I have also contributed in product, marketing and building culture at UC . If my idea was rejected, I have got convinced on why it has not been selected. It’s always a discussion here. Nothing is ever forced on you, you actually get to know the WHY behind things happening here and it’s completely your choice to ask for it. Things went on and my learning has not stopped !

Raghav (CTO) had shared a lot of his experiences from Twitter, Mohit (i call him dada(big brother) has taught us about system design, Rupesh ji discussing about Node js and mongo db( I think that is his favourite topic) and the list goes on and on. I think I am altogether on a different tangent right now. One day we received an email from our CEO to gather together. We had to make groups and share one thing which is really close to us. I did that with this thought in mind that this is just an activity and nothing more than that. However, few of our colleagues were called to share their stories with everyone. They opened up and shared their personal incidents without any hesitation, just like you share something with your best friend. Abhiraj then ended the session very gracefully by saying that the person sitting next to you is a person first and then an engineer or a VP or a CEO. Respect his/her emotions, be a friend rather than a colleague. That was very heavy, could not work after that, too emotional for me. It was quite evident , post this session, we have made a lot of friends here.

Lets go to the fun part now. We play counter strike and recently we bought a guitar for our office. Just think who started these two things? It’s me ! It’s me and I am proud of it because i worked hard for it ! We play amazing Foosball too !

I can’t thank more to UC for taking me to Mussorrie . It was just AWESOME — bonfire, dance and tandoori chicken ! It was calm, we talked on that trip, clicked a lot of photos, scenic beauty was out of this world ! The whole night we played the Mafia game and I was awarded as the best God !! I was really good at it. We laughed so hard,it was hysterical. I have made really good friends here and I think that is what counts in the big run and you stick to a firm because of the people over there.

There are some things in life more important than money,that was so ideal and cheesy, but I really wanted to say it. A lot has changed in our product in the last year and I have no doubt in my mind when I say we have really worked hard for it. I remember the day when UrbanClap served 1000 requests on a weekend, it was awesome ! We have launched our first TV commercial, so yeah we are growing and there is a long way to go!

Join us if you think you can be a good fit here ! Checkout our careers page : careers.urbanclap.com

Till then #basclapkaro

Cheers — Jupneet Singh, Android Engineer

--

--