Kareen George — Content Designer

UC Blogger
Urban Company – Design

--

I’m Ka-reen. Drawn to all things beautiful, I like to think of myself as a Jack of all trades, unburdened by the rules of specializations. I am passionate about digital illustrations, bold customized typography, photo manipulation, mixed media art, textile surface manipulations… Think of me as a hobby hoarder, forever obsessing and exploring. Right now, I am learning how to crochet flowers 🌸 and honing my craft.

Some days, you can see me talking a mile a minute; other times, I’m lost in thought, swaying in my chair like a human pendulum — all part of my quirky charm. Beyond work, you’ll find me immersed in graphic novels, psychology reads, binge-watching Mr. Kate’s decor videos, and indulging in psycho/thriller/gore movie marathons. I spend an unreasonable amount of time smelling candles and visiting fancy stores to buy snacks with cute packaging — all for my growing collection.

Favourite place of work (office or home) and why?

Office! For quick, spontaneous brainstorming sessions, long discussions about absolutely any topic on Earth, and effective problem-solving. It also helps me maintain a clear boundary between work, allowing time for personal skill development and unwinding.

Favourite thing/ place in office or home?

Favourite drink/ snack while working?

Iced tea & Hawaiian BBQ cheese popcorn (only for late nights)

Choice of music while working?

I prefer not to listen to music for tasks that require deep focus. For prolonged periods, I opt for three-hour ambient nature sounds or coffee shop jazz instrumentals. And when I find myself procrastinating, I turn to Bollywood songs to kickstart my tasks.

Share your favourite playlist

What’s the best advice you’ve ever heard?

Be patient and persistent.

Your favourite bookmarks/ inspiration sources?

Awwards, Type01 magazine, Mobbin, Pinterest, Muzli by InVision

Your favourite books

Favourite TED talk or any interview?

What do you do when not working?

I dive into books, create digital posters & illustrations, try my hand at origami, and experiment with mixed media techniques, mostly involving textiles. I also visit fancy stores for inspiration.

What is your work superpower?

I’m always game to pick up fresh skills for whatever’s coming up next. I’ve got a knack for the nitty-gritty details, which fuels my desire for things to be just right, down to the tiniest particulars.

Drawn to all things beautiful, I like to think of myself as a Jack of all trades, unburdened by the rules of specializations. I am passionate about digital illustrations, bold customized typography, photo manipulation, mixed media art, textile surface manipulations… Think of me as a hobby hoarder, forever obsessing and exploring. Right now, I am learning how to crochet flowers 🌸 and honing my craft.

Find Kareen on: LinkedInInstagram

--

--

UC Blogger
Urban Company – Design

The author of stories from inside Urban Company (owner of Engineering, Design & Culture blogs)