Dear CEOs and Business Owners…

Uchechi Onuoha
Uchechi
Published in
2 min readMar 25, 2020

COVID-19 this, Corona that. Is anyone else tired of getting emails with these titles or am I alone? I read the first few ones that came in but stopped after the 3rd email I got. Now I don’t bother reading such emails. I just mark as “Read” and move on to the next.

Yes, I understand the importance of communication. There are a number of articles urging brand CEOs and business owners to address their communities on this pandemic that the world is battling. But can we have a break from these scary email headlines? Aren’t there better ways of communicating the changes our businesses are going through without sounding like the Prophet of Doom?

This virus and the uncertainty this has brought to different aspects of our lives has already created so much anxiety and tension. Businesses have had to either go virtual or shut down pending an improvement on the situation. Quite a number of people who live from hand to mouth are scared and wonder how they will cope when their job asks everyone to go home. Everyone is agitated, as it is. Adding to this pressure with scary and gloomy headlines just seems overwhelming.

“So, how can I help?”, you may ask. It’s simple.

  • Make your email titles friendlier and softer. If you are a bank, for instance, trying to communicate that your branches will be operating skeletal services while encouraging customers to use your digital platforms, the title of your email can be “We are Going Digital: Here’s Why.”
  • Stay positive. Craft positive emails while communicating changes that your business may be going through or tips on coping through these times. Switch from negative or dark words and tones to positive and light ones.
  • If you want to cite statistics, please go for the positive ones. Examples of positive stats are the number of people who have made recoveries, progress made by researchers and scientists looking for a cure or vaccine etc. But please ensure you are citing accurate stats. In general, lift our spirits.

I have been on panic mode for days. In my head, there’s an apocalypse. I’ve literally had to tell myself that I’m not going to see zombies roaming the streets when I step out. I almost asked my brother to quarantine when he came back from school and I still give him a side eye when he sneezes. So the last thing I need, and I believe I am speaking for a number of people, is what looks like a reminder that the world is about to end.

Let’s continue to stay positive while following the recommendations of the World Health Organisation for handwashing and social distancing. We will come out of this.

--

--

Uchechi Onuoha
Uchechi
Editor for

A young lady on a quest to improve on her writing skills by documenting personal experiences. Join me by reading an article or two.