I Took a Bus to Work Today

Uchechi Onuoha
Uchechi
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2019

In over a year, my mode of transportation has ranged from hitching a ride with a friend (or ex-friend ☹️) to riding with “Brubby”, taking an Uber or a regular taxi. This means in over a year, I haven’t entered a bus. So if you are wondering why I chose my title, you have it.

I woke up sore and tired from exerting pressure on myself at the gym yesterday. My hands were weak from lifting, thighs sore from squats and leg exercises and general body tired from everything else. Taking a bus was the last thing on my mind. But I couldn’t get an Uber this morning and couldn’t find a regular taxi so when the thought of taking a bus crossed my mind, I said to myself “it’s been a while. Should be fun.”

Image Credit: Abubakar Oshomah Abdulwahab

It took me over 30 minutes to get a bus to my desired location. Partly because I wasn't scrambling with everyone else and kept scrutinizing the appearances of the buses, their drivers and conductors. I finally got into one after realizing I may spend the whole day trying to get a bus. I struggled to adjust my legs as there wasn’t enough room. I also made sure I had the exact bus fare because the last thing I wanted was to argue with a conductor over change.

About 15 minutes into the journey, it happened. A train was passing by and people were hanging from the train while others sat on top the train. If you live in or pass through certain parts in Lagos, this sight is not new to you. If you’re unfamiliar, check the image below. It’s a dangerous sight to behold and sometimes you thank God for being in a better situation.

Image Credit: Google

There’s a bad behaviour often associated with some of these people who hang or sit on the train and that’s harassment — mainly catcalling and throwing stones at cars and people. Today, they threw stones at vehicles and people and the bus I was in wasn’t spared. As I looked out, I noticed they seemed to be concentrating on something. Less than a minute after, I saw some of them getting off the train and running across the road to vandalize a car. They used their hands to break his side mirror and kept banging on his window and tried opening his door. What did the driver do? It seemed he had gotten them upset by reacting to their harassment.

My bus became noisy as fellow passengers started shouting and passing comments and telling the driver to please mind his business and keep driving before we become victims. As if on a prompt, a young man at the back started shouting “arrest these guys. This is rubbish!” One of the angry men vandalizing cars heard him and started charging towards us with other men. It took the intervention of the man beside me (who happened to be sitting by the window) and the bus driver who quickly manoeuvred and drove off. Everyone descended on the young man who drew clearly unwanted attention to our bus.

All the while, I sat quiet looking around and wondering what Lagos had turned to and realizing I could’ve been harmed if not for timely intervention as I was sitting close to the window. My heart wasn’t racing which was odd. I wasn’t scared. I was just very baffled. At that point, I said to myself “well that’s it for you, sis. Back to Uber.”

Image Credit: Abubakar Najeeb

Now what was sad about this experience was there were armed officials around but they didn’t do anything. In fact, there was a policeman in our bus who kept mum throughout. The conductor, in response to some comments, said this wasn’t new to them as it happened often.

What is happening to us?

--

--

Uchechi Onuoha
Uchechi
Editor for

A young lady on a quest to improve on her writing skills by documenting personal experiences. Join me by reading an article or two.