How I Got A 4.96 CGPA

UNION OF CAMPUS JOURNALISTS, LAUTECH
UCJLAUTECH
Published in
2 min readMay 3, 2019

Hamzat Mariam

Every year, LAUTECH has a tradition of honouring the fresh student with the highest CGPA. This year, the honour was bestowed on Adegboyega Taofeek Abiodun.

The 200 level student of the Department of Civil Engineering finished 100 level with a cumulative grade point average of 4.96–4.91 in his first semester and 5.00 in his second.

The UCJ LAUTECH had an interview with him to talk about the secret behind his achievement, his background and his tips for other students.

Can you give us a brief history of your life before LAUTECH?

I received my primary school education at Ikirun, before I moved to Ede where I completed my secondary education in the year 2014. At my senior secondary school, people called me “Prof” for certain reasons, but I was the Agric prefect. After my secondary school, I applied to study Civil Engineering in FUTA, but it was futile. Then, I picked LAUTECH the following year and was admitted.

How has LAUTECH been so far?

LAUTECH has been great though stressful.

So, what’s the story behind your CGPA if LAUTECH has been stressful, as you say?

Well, one has to keep working hard. So, it’s simply hard work and prayer as well as help from a few friends and tutors. I was not a fan of night class at first, but I soon got the hang of it during 100 level 2nd semester.

What would you say helped you the most?

Attending classes. Many people miss out on class for tutorials, but I don’t do that. I attended class and supplement it with tutorials. I also attended the mock tests and exams set up by tutorials around campus, to test myself.

Who’s your role model or mentor?

In LAUTECH, my first choice would be my roommate Abdul Sobur who happened to be my junior in secondary school. He gained admission into LAUTECH before me, so, he helped me with the necessary textbooks and guided me. Another person is Mr. Yahya, a tutor at the MSSN tutorial.

What are your hobbies and do you belong to any organization in school?

I love playing football and I follow matches. I’m a Manchester United Fan. But, I do not belong to any organization.

What’s your advice to the 100 level students?

One thing Mr. Yahya told me is that “CBT exams are for the smart and fast, not the brilliant, with the ability to interpret questions, you would get the answer without having to show the workings from A-Z”.

--

--