Graphic Design 4 Final

Deanna Lavoie
UConn Graphic Design 4
5 min readApr 26, 2020

Workshop 1

Favorite Features: (1) the ability to easily toggle between classes (2) the ability to turn on and off notifications per class (3) the ability to easily email any of your classmates with one click when you need help with something

Reflection

This assignment was unique to other design assignments I have completed. For starters, the dynamic of working together as an entire class was quite different. It proved to have its positives and negatives. Right from the start we were all asked to shout out ideas of what the productivity applications could be about. This was interesting to hear everyones idea and just get everyone thinking, but became a bit difficult to narrow things down and get everyone on the page.

I think one of the biggest difficulties was time. With only 4 weeks and 4 class sessions, we had to think quickly and work effectively to make sure we got everything completed. I must also mention, I had never used Adobe XD before so that part made me nervous with time being such a big factor. However, in this aspect, working on a team proved useful, because if I had a question about XD I could simply just ask a group-mate. I think time worked with us and against us. A deadline made it so we worked hard to get the work done and create an outcome we were happy with. However, if there was more time I think it would have been useful to secure a concrete concept from the start and then really dive into what becomes the most practical but creative uses for such an app. Although I am happy with the result of the applications, there is room to make alterations in terms of clarity, layout, and aesthetic choices.

Overall, I think that we were able to work well as a class in a short period of time to create three prototypes of a well-rounded application. It was a great learning experience.

Workshop 2

Three Alphabet Designs

(1) System (2) Object (3) Variable

Title Wall Proposals

Exhibition Brochure

Note: The outside two are stretched for some reason, but the center image can be used to see the length of the brochure when being held

Main Ideas / Approach

After conducting research on the Kpeliye’e masks and the Senufo people, I noticed that other curators have been inclined to use blue as their main exhibition color, so I wanted to follow suit in some fashion. Also in terms of color, I felt that neutral sand and brown colors were suitable in comparison to the color of the masks, as well as the fact that the Senufo people were known to be very agricultural. I wanted the layout of the brochure to be easily navigated and allow the masks to be the most important part. However, I did not want the layout to be too repetitive so I chose to have some pages in which the mask image received its on page and some where it was on both pages. I also alternated between allowing the text to be on a white background to being on the sand colored background. Lastly, I was inspired by the narrow and tall shape of the masks and therefore thought it made sense to have the brochure follow those same characteristics in terms of sizing.

Workshop 3

Concept Sentence

My booklet is centered around the tradition of Sunday dinner, a time in which my family/friends and I have dinner together, play games, and share memories, holding high importance in our personal/social lives.

Front cover

Four Spreads

Full Book

*can be downloaded to view in higher quality

Reflection

I had not made my own book before in previous classes so this was a fun and new assignment. I feel that the openness of the assignment concept helps to connect to the material better. This class being fully online, proved to be most difficult in terms of not being able to see a physical finished product, so in a perfect world it would have been nice to see how this book would look printed and if it would alter any of my decisions. However online, I was still able to get good feedback in terms of ways to lay out the design elements which helped me to get to this final product, and have learned a lot from the assignment.

--

--