Ho_Design_4

Edward Ho
UConn Graphic Design 4
4 min readApr 23, 2020

Workshop 1: Kristi-Lynn Jacovino

Favorite Features I Worked On

  1. Full Resolution Image
I made the feature where when you click on an image contained in a post, it would show you the full resolution image. This is an example of on of the smaller features that, while easily overlooked, is critical to the actual use and intuitiveness of a design.

2. Generating Real Content

I used various plugins and scripts to auto generate dummy content for: Profile Pictures, Titles of Posts, Names of Users, Date and Time of Posting, # of Comments, emails of Users, # of min ago Posted. Real content is what makes allows you to see what the app would really look and feel like if it were to be used in real life. I noticed that the same profile picture over and over again, ‘John Doe’ and ‘Example Post’ were not at all cutting it for getting a real feel for how the app would be.

Sell Sheet

Sell Sheet

Reflections

I missed the first class where my other classmates decided on what what the app would be/what features it would have. When I came to class the second week, I quickly noticed that no one was on the same page at all. I realized that in order to get anything done, we as a class would have to make a very specific list of features and tackle the design again under some unified direction.

In the future, I would improve on the process by making sure everyone knew what was going on before beginning to make the app. Either that or delegate one person to have a final say in decisions. I believe that in the real world this is solved by having art directors, but for the purpose of a class exercise, it made me realize just how important they are.

Workshop 2: Chris + Kathleen Sleboda

3 Alphabets

Alphabet 1 — System
Alphabet 2— Variable
Alphabet 2 — Found Object

Title Wall Proposals

Title Wall Proposal 1
Title Wall Proposal 2
Title Wall Proposal 3

Exhibition Brochure

Ho_Brochure.pdf

Main Ideas and Approach

My main concept for this exhibition was to express the feeling of balance and calmness. From my understanding, Chinese ceremonial armor was worn mainly for ceremonies involving high ranking officers, not for actual fighting. If they were used on the field, they would be worn by the generals in the back of the battlefield.

The inspiration for some of the slight serifs in the Latin characters were the brush strokes used in traditional Chinese calligraphy. I felt that the design overall did not need much detail, as the armor itself has a lot of ornateness. I chose a simple approach that put the emphasis on a highlighted piece of armor. I think the armor is amazing enough to speak for itself so all it needs is a single bold announcement.

Workshop 3: Daphne Geismar

Concept Sentence

My booklet will share my encounter and experience with the quote “Dreams start by believing,” as well as the ideas underlying the quote and the Law of Vibration.

Front Cover

Front Cover

Four Spreads

Spread 1
Spread 2
rewarewara
Spread 3

My secondary text did not fit well being interspersed throughout the book, so I decided to contain it in a smaller pamphlet bound inside the book instead. The area shows the beginning of the pamphlet.

Spread 4

PDF of complete book

Ho_Book.pdf

--

--