Olivia Pelzar / GD4

Olivia Pelzar
UConn Graphic Design 4
4 min readApr 27, 2020

WORKSHOP 1 / CampusBuzz

In this class we were tasked with building the wireframes of a productivity app. Our class collectively decided to create a student-run class page for peers to help one another, chat, ask questions about assignments, etc. For some of us (including myself) it was our first time using Adobe XD in a project. I’m glad we got the opportunity to utilize this tool in a class setting because we were all able to help one another in learning things about the software, and this made it much quicker to get comfortable with. It was also the first time Adobe XD had initiated their sharing platform, allowing us to work on the same document simultaneously. This was very helpful seeing that the class only met once per week. I was part of the desktop team, and I think we worked very efficiently and split the workload up well. We did find it difficult to coordinate with the other groups (Mobile and Web) since we wanted each platform to have a cohesive feel to them. Overall, this project was a great learning experience for more reasons than one, and I am impressed by what we were able to produce in four short weeks.

opening home screen for desktop page
initial loading page and icon in dock
search bar function on desktop app

WORKSHOP 2 / Typefaces and Museum Exhibition

OBJECT
SYSTEM
VARIABLE

Self Representation: Martha Wilson’s Investigation of Identity

In this mock-exhibition, I wanted to capture the character of Martha Wilson as well as the art she creates. Much of her work revolves around making her own persona into another’s, so my exhibition titles reflect the way Martha is both putting herself on display while hiding behind the scenes at the same time. The color palate selected for this exhibition is a nod to Wilson’s personal style and iconic bright-red hair.

WORKSHOP 3 / Book Design

My focus for this booklet is on kids I have taken care of over the years and how they have shown me a different side of myself, the ways I approach situations, and the lessons my parents instilled in me.

I enjoyed the opportunity to choose the content/subject matter for this booklet project. This is certainly an assignment I think would have been very nice to see in person as the semester came to a close. Over the course of this class across the three sections I felt more and more comfortable taking creative risks on these projects, and I took a lot of these skills in bookmaking and applied them to my Senior Project too. I also enjoyed getting to see what my other classmates are interested in outside of graphic design. Some chose to tell us about their families, others showed hobbies, and some landed on topics that were relevant to their lives. Lastly, seeing the process of everyone’s books over the last month helped us all collectively see different paths people took to create 15 entirely different designs.

Full Booklet PDF https://www.dropbox.com/s/0zbkzg8igiw6y5f/11_Pelzar_Final%20Book.pdf?dl=0

--

--