An Ode to My DS Journey

I remember the day, when the fairy email came to scheme
My inbox glowed, with the golden dust of its theme
“Congratulations, You are offered a Data science Challenge Scholarship”
“Celebrations”, said my mind and my heart set forth on this ship

Duties, Family responsibilities, Work all stood before me,
Bravely I looked at them and said, “I shall conquer you three

Slack was a broken dam, that flooded every screen
Nevertheless Forum stayed poised, holding back every scream
Community managers rushed in for our deliverance
Guarded by Student Leaders to help make a difference

Juggling and managing time, I tossed back every wave
That approached to enslave, and corner me to a cave
Time to paint, Time to play, Time to nap was a history
Yet Data Science and I found some chemistry

Statistics was a scary storm and a thundering nightmare to me
But I must say the captain, made this course tide safe to be
Python, SQL and I were friends from long time
Now we grew closer to be partners in crime

Course Completion”, “Participation in Slack” were the words that rang
These were the lyrics of the song that we sang
Helping, Mentoring, Guiding, Encouraging were my motto
Motivation, Happiness, Good friends, was what I got back pronto

My network grew global so far and so wide
I can now say that, with so much pride
#live-help, #ama-session, #woman_to_code are few channels I swam
There were many more that proved to me, who I really am

A Woman, A Mother, A Wife, A Sister, No matter which you play
You will surely make a path to guide your way
Twenty, Thirty, Sixty, no matter how old you are
All the help you get here, will make you a star

Thank you Udacity for this opportunity
If it not were for you, I would surely miss this community !

This was a short poem originally written and published as part of the Women Who Code Udacity Data Science Book initiative. I decided to share my journey with you all here as well. Hope you enjoyed reading.

--

--