6 Tips for Falling In Love Again (With Your Job!)

Adam Lane
Udacity Inc
Published in
4 min readFeb 14, 2018

I’d like to introduce you to someone. Call them The Careers Bartender — a sort of in-house expert on skilling-up, finding a job, and staying relevant to the job market. I invite you to pull up a stool, order your favorite beverage, and fire away with your questions. The bar is stocked and our bartender is ready to listen …

In honor of Valentine’s Day, the bartender helps with a reader’s labors in love.

Dear Careers Bartender,

I’ve fallen out of love. It’s taken me a long time to admit that, even to myself. I wake up every day and I feel empty. I’m going through the motions, pretending that everything is okay. But it really isn’t. I’m bored, unchallenged, and underwhelmed. The truth is, my job just doesn’t excite me anymore.

I want a role that makes me start each day feeling inspired and glad to be alive. My problem is I know it isn’t going to happen where I am, but I feel overwhelmed when I think about making a change. How do I overcome this fear and find a job I love again?

Signed,

Dejected in Denver

~

Dear Dejected in Denver,

Falling out of love with your job can be tough, but remember that your future is filled with amazing opportunities. By contacting me, you’ve already taken an incredible first step to getting there: you’ve recognized you need a change, and you’ve started considering how to make it happen! Here are my 6 Tips for Falling In Love Again (With Your Job!)

  • Commit to making the change. Take a large sheet of paper. Stick it to your refrigerator or your bedroom mirror, and write “I will find a new job within three months!” at the top. Consider this a binding contract. You have three months from today to find something new!
  • Identify what you want from your next employer. You’ve just had a real-life lesson in what you don’t want from your next role, but that’s in the past now. Today, make a list of everything you DO want from your new job. Examples could include remote working options, more vacation days, clear opportunities for advancement, and strong leadership. Keep this list on hand when you start looking at review sites like Glassdoor, so you can spot the most appealing employers!
  • Apply to at least one job every day. But don’t just “swipe right” on every employer! Be selective, and chose only the most exciting roles. Remember: you want to rediscover your passion! Then take the time to tailor your application. You significantly improve your chances of being offered an interview if you really focus on your relevant skills, your passion for the advertised role, and the business value you add.
  • Accentuate the positive. Speaking badly of a former loved-one might be cathartic, but it also tends to reflect badly on you. Avoid being negative about your employer when you interview elsewhere. Keep the attention on the experience and skills you’ve built, and, if you can’t think of anything nice to say, try the old adage of “saying nothing at all.” Instead, don’t be shy about talking about the aspects of your interviewer’s business that particularly appeal to you.
  • Remember that rejection is actually opportunity. Nobody said the road to a job you love would be easy! Treat every rejection as an opportunity to refine your next application. Don’t be afraid to ask for feedback. And don’t shy away from critiquing your own efforts. Did you rush the online application form? Did your resume make your skills sparkle? It’s a great idea to keep a running set of notes of what has worked and what you need to change next time.
  • Part on good terms. When you accept a job offer, and hand in your notice, don’t give in to the temptation to depart on dramatic terms. You might be very happy to leave, but you should try to be professional, thanking them for the opportunities you’ve had. You never know when people from a former employer might later reappear in your career!

Breaking up is never easy to do, but it really can be the best move for long-term job happiness. Stay focused on the exciting vision of what you want from your career, and you can ensure your next role is one you’ll adore. Good luck, and see you at Happy Hour!

--

--

Adam Lane
Udacity Inc

Adam is a writer at Udacity. He has previously written about topics such as education, law, the energy sector, and travel.