Blogging the Udacity Self-Driving Car Engineer Nanodegree Program

David Silver
Udacity Inc
Published in
1 min readNov 2, 2017
Carla, the Udacity Self-Driving Car!

For the last year and a quarter, I’ve been working with a team at Udacity to build the Self-Driving Car Engineer Nanodegree program. This is a nine-month program that prepares software engineers for jobs working on autonomous vehicles.

Over the coming weeks and months, I’m going to produce a new post about each of the lessons in the Nanodegree program, to help you explore what you can learn. As of right now, there are 67 lessons, so I anticipate this process will take me several months to complete. But I’m excited to spend time reviewing and sharing what we’ve built!

During our program we cover: computer vision, deep learning, sensor fusion, localization, path planning, control, advanced electives, and finally system integration. In the final part of the program, students even get to put their own code on Carla, Udacity’s actual self-driving car.

I’ll start today with a quick post about our 1st lesson, which is entitled: “Welcome”.

--

--