Self-Driving Car Nanodegree Program: Behind The Scenes Pt. 1

Dhruv Parthasarathy
Udacity Inc
Published in
2 min readNov 3, 2016

The community that has developed around the Self-Driving Car Engineer Nanodegree program is my favorite part of the program, and every day I’m reminded of the awesome responsibility we have to you, our students. You have committed yourselves to this program, to this technology, and to a future in which autonomous vehicles are a powerful and positive part of our world. It’s on us to make sure your experience is everything you hope it will be, and more.

Every day I’m reminded of the awesome responsibility we have to you, our students.

For me, one of the best parts about my college experience was getting to know my professors, and all the staff that helped make my program a reality. It helped me make the connection between the professionals I saw delivering lectures from behind podiums on huge stages, and the people behind those lectures—real people, with genuine stories, unique personalities, and challenges and dreams just like mine.

We want to achieve a similar sense of connection for every one of you, and in addition to our in-person events, our live chats online, our Slack channel, and more, we’d also like to share some behind-the-scenes looks at the people who actually helped create this program. Through efforts like these, we hope to make personal connections a fundamental part of this online program.

So today, I’d like a share bit of behind-the-scenes footage from the TechCrunch event where Sebastian Thrun first officially announced our program. I hope you enjoy!

--

--

Dhruv Parthasarathy
Udacity Inc

@dhruvp. VP Eng @Athelas. MIT Math and CS Undergrad ’13. MIT CS Masters ’14. Previously: Director of AI Programs @ Udacity.