This Week at Udacity, June 29 Edition

As we hit the halfway point for 2018, we take a look back at 6 months of Student Success! (And, of course, the Tweet of the Week!)

Udacity for Teams
Udacity Inc
4 min readJun 29, 2018

--

Anna Suszka, Data Expert, Lifelong Learner, Udacity Alum

Is it REALLY the end of June already? 2018 is flying by! SO much has happened, and there’s no better way to feel good about a year than to reflect on the achievements of lifelong learners all across the globe who are empowering themselves through education to advance their lives and careers. So with that said, let’s spin the Wheel of Time, and go back to January!

January 2018

For our very first #StudentSuccess story of the year, we got to introduce you to Richard Morgan, who undertook a huge career change to become a software developer, after 30 years in other industries!

“Everyday I’m so thankful, it’s been so worth it. Since moving to College Station, our kids are happy, my wife is happy, I’m so happy. I feel so fortunate to have found a job and an industry that I love.”

February 2018

In February, we got to meet Kat Halo, who was able to use what she learned in her Digital Marketing Nanodegree program to create a whole new role for herself … at the company where she was already working!

“I am loving my new role. I’m now working with the CEO to create an overall marketing plan for the company, focusing on patient acquisition and retention. It’s a challenge, but Udacity really helped me to understand how to grow a brand through smart digital marketing. And the best part is, I am still working for a company I love, doing two things I love: working with patients, and being creative.”

March 2018

In March, we shared a story about Anna Suszka, a Udacity student and mother of two who found a passion for data science, enrolled in our Data Analyst Nanodegree program, and made a complete career change!

“Making a career change was absolutely the right decision for me, and I really think it’s important other women realize it’s possible to do. A lot of my friends with kids see what I did and are not sure they’d cope. Now obviously, it’s difficult with the demands of having kids to make a change, but it’s also possible! Women like me should know that there are great opportunities to gain skills and change careers that don’t involve sacrificing other parts of your life.”

April 2018

In April, we had the pleasure of introducing you to Samuel Almeida, from Teófilo Otoni, Brazil. His is a wonderful story of finding your true life’s work!

“It was really the moment when I felt I could say, ‘Yes, I can change industries and become a developer!’ I knew it wasn’t just a side interest; I had real ability as a developer. I had my new life direction!”

May 2018

Getting to share Anne-Christine’s story was a real honor, and it was so exciting to see Google sharing her story as well; she’s become an inspiration to so many!

“I am really grateful to Google and Udacity for this chance. The ball is now in my camp. I just have to transform this chance and work hard to reach the final goal! I want to prove that a 51-year-old mum can become an Android programmer.”

June 2018

And here we are in June! This very morning, we had the pleasure of sharing a story about Mads Nyborg, from Copenhagen, Denmark, who told us about how his two years away from data ended up being the best thing for his data career!

“They asked about what I’d done with Udacity, and I told them how it had helped me hone my approach to programming and how I looked at data. And then they offered me the job!”

It’s an incredible feeling to go back and re-read these stories, and realize all over again how amazing people really are—we’re so fortunate to play a part in the stories of these remarkable learners, and we look forward to more great stories to come!

And with that, it’s time for …

The Tweet of the Week!

Let’s go with this one. Because success starts with aspiration.

And THAT … is This Week at Udacity!

~

This post was written by Christopher Watkins, Senior Writer and Chief Words Officer, Udacity

--

--

Udacity for Teams
Udacity Inc

Democratizing education through skills-based online credential programs. Learn with us!