INTERNSHIP CHECK-IN: Jordyn Reed, News and Sports Intern with News 6 WKMG

UF Sports Media
UFSportsMedia

--

This summer, I’ve had the great pleasure of working at my hometown station, News 6 WKMG, the Orlando CBS affiliate, in both the news and sports departments. I can’t believe I only have a few weeks left of my internship and I’m sad that it’s ending so soon, but I’m very grateful I’ve had the opportunity to work here this summer.

Tasks & What Goes On

News

One of the things I love about this industry is that you’ll never know where the day will take you. On Tuesday’s, I usually work with the news team, and I go out with a reporter to cover a story. My tasks vary each day, and with each story we cover, but typically I help with equipment set-up, getting some shots for the story, as well as assisting the reporters with anything else they need. I’ve been able to report on some exciting stories and in fact one we covered a few weeks back was a story I pitched, which was awesome!

Sports
Heading over to the sports department, on Thursday’s and Friday’s I get to work with the sports director Jamie Seh and sports anchor Ryan Welch. Much like news, my tasks vary each time I work, but usually, I help with equipment set up, getting shots for Ryan or Jamie, and working with the subjects of the stories. I’ve also been able to log sound and cut highlights for their show as well as write some web articles for ClickOrlando.com. It’s hard to choose my favorite memory from this internship because it has all be great. However, if I had to pick a few, I would say attending press conferences for the Orlando Magic and NASCAR, getting to watch the NBA draft at the Amway Arena, and getting to do a variety of stand-ups such as one from up in a tree, are up there on my list!

Lessons
Another great thing about my job is that I’ve been able to do a lot of stand-ups and practice packages with both news and sports. Having the opportunity to do this, I’ve been able to expand my professional skills and learn more about how to be a great reporter and storyteller. Being in this professional setting, I have been able to better understand how the industry work and it only makes me more excited for what’s to come after I graduate in December.

None of this would have been possible without the help of the anchors, reporters, producers, News 6 staff, Angel Blazquez, Jamie, or Ryan. Everyone has been incredibly welcoming and helpful this summer, and I can’t begin to express my gratitude to everyone I’ve worked with at News 6. I’m really excited to return this fall and utilize all the lessons, both life and professional, I’ve learned this summer! See you soon Gator Nation.

--

--

UF Sports Media
UFSportsMedia

The University of Florida's Sports Journalism and Communications Program