For a Black Girl Who Is

Jamia Kenan
UGA NABJ
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2016
Space Queen by Cara.

They say I am many things because I’m a black girl

You’re so pretty…for a black girl

Skin just the a shade light enough, white enough

Yeah that negro mixed with creole

Just enough whiteness into your bloodline to make your kitchen hair curl, pretty black girl.

Society is praising a past crime

of forced whiteness, a swirl that might be acceptable to master

House and field may have separated us but when he blew out his candle

finished disrespecting our ancestry, stripping our precious jewels

and done caressing our figures

to him were just some more used up niggas.

They say I’m calm and quiet for a black girl

As if we aren’t individuals.

They want me to be the strong independent black women

The kind that don’t need no man

The kind that rolls her neck

Snaps her fingers

Claps her hands.

The strong black women

A matriarch who carries her family and her past on her back

Fights oppression when it smacks her in the face

Has her femininity stripped from Her soul

As she is forced to take on both gender roles.

It is expected to be powerful.

It’s expected to be resilient.

It is expected to take it.

But it’s ok to be vulnerable too

They say I’m intelligent for a black girl.

“wow, you’re so well spoken! So smart”

“You don’t sound like that those other black girls”

Wait.

Pause.

Using Ebonics and your intelligence level are NOT mutually exclusive

You say that as if mainstream America hasn’t appreciated,I mean appropriated our language (take out a few words here)

Swag

Slay

Shade

Flexin’

Fineese

On fleek

Turnt

Trippin

Lowkey

Lit

All of that is black

It’s fine with mainstream just as long as our voices aren’t saying them

Black American culture is American culture so quit slashing out the black part.

I’m not surprised at our mental abilities

Maybe because Africa is the birthplace of mankind

And maybe the crisp opaqueness of your skin is a unending reference to the universe

Our stars and galaxies are embodied by darkness.

We are both earthly and other worldly.

Image by Cara

Our gifts, talents, intelligence are vast.

It’s innate for us to be great.

I’m not these things because I’m a black girl. I’m not these things “for a black girl”. I am what I am because of God. I am what I have proudly become because I have been blessed to survive life long enough as a black woman.

--

--

Jamia Kenan
UGA NABJ
Editor for

Public Relations Co-Chair & Internal Affairs Co-Chair for UGA chapter of National Association of Black Journalists. Features Editor for Infusion Mag. Womanist.