Top UGA NABJ Moments 2016: #WordtoMizzou

Jamia Kenan
UGA NABJ
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2016
Created by Jamari Jordan

It could have happened at my university.

That very thought ran through my mind whenever I read articles or watched coverage about the extreme racism that took place during November 2015 at the University of Missouri. As a student of color who also attends a predominately white institution where only 7% of students are African-American, I certainly identified with dealing with on campus racism and prejudice. However, I wasn’t alone in how I felt about the situation.

In order to show support for the students Mizzou, NABJ and other minority organizations on campus decided to create an event where we could all illustrate our support for the students at Missouri. Around this time, many schools across the nation posted capturing images and videos via Twitter in order to make a statement about institutional racism. Campus leaders followed suit and began planning what became to known as #WordtoMizzou.

In order to encourage as many people as possible to stand in solidarity multicultural organizations pubbed #WordtoMizzou through social media, flyers, and word of mouth at the beginning of the week. One the day of #WordtoMizzou, over 100 students showed up to Park Hall.

#WordtoMizzou is one of my top NABJ moments because it was the first time in my experience at UGA where I felt like I wasn’t alone in my struggle. It was visible representation of mutual support and unity from a multitude of cultures and races. As an aspiring journalist, the moment was also touching because Missouri hosts one of the top journalism programs in the nation. How could I not feel anything?

#WordtoMizzou was also another example of how the University the Georgia is making to strides to encourage diversity and inclusion. UGA is far from perfect in terms of racial relations but this event gave me hope that all members of the Bulldawg will be recognized.

--

--

Jamia Kenan
UGA NABJ
Editor for

Public Relations Co-Chair & Internal Affairs Co-Chair for UGA chapter of National Association of Black Journalists. Features Editor for Infusion Mag. Womanist.