New York City Ballet MOVES

“In Creases” performed by the New York City Ballet

“I’m going to a Ballet!” is an example of one of those sentences that will produce two very different responses from people. Whether it be disgust just from the thought of what some will think is only an event where dancers in leotards leap around or interest in what will be performed, individuals seem to have very strong opinions on whether or not they enjoy ballet.

Lucky for me, when my aunt invited me to accompany her to this event, I was on the side of interest. I had been to one true ballet once before and this combined with my minimal knowledge of ballet, which told me that seeing the New York City Ballet would be a big deal, led me to excitedly agree to go with her. And boy, am I glad that I went!

This production by the New York City Ballet, titled “Moves” was compromised of five different dances, ranging from the classic ballerinas in tutus to more modern day numbers that included electronic music. Some numbers, like “In Creases” compelled audiences to rise to their feet in applause while others like “La Stravaganza”, still garnering the applause it deserved, left us turning to our neighbors and asking, “Now what do you think that was about?” All in all, the experience was beautiful. It reminded me of the many amazing ways we human beings can express ourselves. The themes were complex and magical, telling the stories of love, conflict, nature, and more. The dancers were passionate, controlled in their movements, and dazzling.

My favorite piece of the night was probably the least favorite of many others in the audience. “La Stravaganza” was a long dance including two different groups, one dressed in pale garb and the other in what seemed to pilgrims clothes. The main reason I loved it was because I couldn’t quite figure out what they story was expressing. Were the dancers dressed in their soft colors representing nature? Native Americans? Earth? Were the pilgrim individuals actually pilgrims or were they simply portraying mankind? All of these options swirled through my head while I watched the elegance of one movement and the oddness of another. After the performance was finished many agreed that they hadn’t really enjoyed it as much as they others. It had some parts that, quite frankly, were a bit weird. But I, however, loved it and spent the rest of the evening analyzing the different emotions, musical ques, and movements that displayed a theme I was sure was deep and enriching. To this day I still haven’t figured out what it was exactly about. I’m sure it wasn’t about zombies in leotards, as one person in my group joked, but the other options I listed earlier are still on the list. Perhaps it was about all of them? Anyways, being someone who loves analyzing, “La Stravaganza” was perfect for me.

I would greatly encourage anyone who has never been to a ballet to go, even if it sounds like a waste of time. Ballet is a way to gracefully dance out life’s stories and it’s truly an amazing experience.

--

--