#14: Class Monitoring Dashboard

Sophie Lowen
UI Weekly Challenge
2 min readMay 7, 2021

This week, the final week, combined everything that I had been covering these past 14 weeks into the challenge of creating a dashboard. I decided to do a class monitoring dashboard to stick with the theme of a children education app that I have been doing for a few of my designs every week.

This week was hard. Since I was doing desktop designs instead of mobile that meant I had more space to work with but I also had a lot to put into that space. Dashboard designs are also heavily on the informational design side which is a challenge in itself. This week has definitely showed me how much I have improved but also I still have so much to learn.

Dashboard Designs

Feedback

The feedback this week was scattered across the designs with an agreement that the best design would be taking elements from each of the three and combining them into a new design. The typography was the best on Glass because the font choice was seen as fun and the organization of the lessons, hours and students cards worked the best in that design. The header in Geo with “Sarah Ford” pulled away from the content works really well and keeps the main content of the dashboard standout. For mono, the organization of the information works the best. Having New and Graded cards stacked with columns of information for the lessons, hours and students made the design have a clear grid.

The grid system was a huge thing that I learned from the feedback this week. Using the graphic design grid system is really effective in trying to organize a lot of different elements and make it clean to the eye. I struggled with organizing Glass until it was pointed out that I can align “Sara ford” and assignments with the already existing rows that were created in the rest of the dashboard. This instantly made it look better.

--

--