#9: Calculators and Leaderboards

Sophie Lowen
UI Weekly Challenge
3 min readApr 5, 2021

Calculators are fun! They are more complex than I would’ve thought. I knew going into this week that I wanted to make one design that mimiked the tactility of a real calculator. I decided to try that with the Geo design. For the leaderboards, I had a harder time coming up with variations and I don’t have one design that is my favorite. I have more pros and cons for all of them.

Calculator Designs

Feedback

The geo (real calculator) design was by far the favorite of both mine and everyone else. I made a design that had a subtle drop shadow that made the buttons feel real and that was effective. For the mono design the equal sign was too big and the squares feel like they blend in with one another. Another favorite of the geo design was where the equation was located, the top left was seen as very effective since it gave the answer room.

Leaderboards

Feedback

The glass design was seen as the least effective since everything blended together too much and there wasn’t a clear heirarchy. In the mono design you can clearly see the heirarchy of who is leading because of the height of the type and how individual’s scores standout. The addition of the 1 in the crown was also well liked but the dot after the #s was seen as unnecessary. The Geo one would’ve been my critics favorite but they thought it needed some tweaks. For example, if the grey circle with the number in it was a different color and the 1st place was a little higher above than the other places to exaggerate her win. The reason for Geo being the favorite was the separation between the winners and the rest of the scores.

--

--