Jay’s Survival Guide for the College Enrollment

by Jay Jacobs, associate director of admission

Eye of a ’Cane
Eye of a ’Cane
4 min readJan 30, 2017

--

First off, take a step back, take a deep breath, and pat yourself on the back. You got into college! That, in and of itself, is a HUGE accomplishment and you should be proud.

All of us in college admissions understand that the journey (and perhaps the stress) hasn’t ended yet, however. Now you are lining up all of your admission offers, scholarship awards, financial aid packages, etc. and starting to make THE decision of where you will call home for the next four years.

If you haven’t read Shane’s Survival Guide for the College Hunt, I suggest you do so, because his list can be slightly tweaked for Jay’s Survival Guide for the College Enrollment. I will structure my list a little differently and along the lines of three very important questions we ask all our prospective students:

1. What do you like?

2. What are your strengths?

3. What do you want to do with the rest of your life?

Answer these three questions and you’re sure to choose the school where you will be as successful as possible, both academically and socially. Here’s why.

What do you like?

Think of the things that you like to do, like to study, the people that you like to be around, even the food you like to eat. In my experience, I knew I wanted to study economics and political science, play lacrosse, study abroad, volunteer, and drink as many chocolate milkshakes as possible (yes, even the dining options might play into your decision), on top of all the other “typical” college experiences I was seeking. This allowed me to think and ask myself, “Does UM offer all of this?” If not, “Does College A or University B offer these opportunities?”

I also knew I had other options on campus that I liked to do, but weren’t vital in my decision-making process. I knew there was intramural basketball. I knew that the school offered internships through career services. The school I chose didn’t have an improv comedy club, something I loved to do while I was in high school, so that was something I kept in mind during the process.

Asking yourself what you like will help you find a school you know you will enjoy for four years.

What are your strengths?

This question is a great one. It will allow you to figure out what you do well so you can utilize those strengths at whichever college you decide to attend. I knew I was good at debating and discussing topics that were of interest to me. That means, I knew I wanted a classroom atmosphere (and student activities atmosphere, for that matter) that allowed me to interact with my classmates and professors.

Answering this question also allowed me to figure out what things I needed to improve. I knew that writing, in an academic sense, was a major weakness for me. In my political science courses, while writing paper after paper, I would need a writing center that allowed me to talk with and exchange ideas with students or staff who would help me with my assignments. Remember, when Shane told you to step out of your comfort zone in his guide? This is definitely part of that!

What do you want to do with the rest of your life?

This is a daunting question, I know, believe me. You don’t have to have the answer right now. I’m 30 and I still get sweaty palms when I think about that question. Answering the first two questions will help give you some ideas of what you want to do. Here I am, in college admissions, because I like to interact with students like you, my amazing colleagues, and helping people meet their goals. I’m also somewhat capable of analyzing big data sets (yes, we do that in college admission).

A recent graduate from UM knew she had a passion for fine art and was really good at chemistry. Today, she is a curator at an art museum and helps analyze the chemical compounds of the artists’ materials to figure out how to best preserve pieces.

Reflecting on this question to the best of your ability now will help you pick the right school and focus your efforts while you are there. If you have a somewhat vague idea of what you want to major in, then take a peek at a cool tool created by our Toppel Career Center where you can see what types of outcomes 2015 graduates from specific programs have experienced.

Finally, as Shane mentioned, DO YOUR HOMEWORK. Visit us and talk with our students. We have plenty of options for you to visit campus and interact with students who you will be in class with, stay up late with, drink milkshakes with, and call friends for the rest of your life. Good luck with the decision and hopefully we will see you at the U in August for orientation!

Some other lists that might help you:

College Acceptance: Choosing a School When More than One Accepts You

You Got Accepted — Now What?

--

--

Eye of a ’Cane
Eye of a ’Cane

We are undergraduate admission officers, student leaders, and alumni. We are UM, here to tell you our story.