Catching a glimpse of Asian “Greek” life

Plex
Plex
Published in
3 min readApr 19, 2011

Never have I thought about joining a sorority when coming to college.

All I really knew about Greek life was how they’ve been portrayed in the media, and the two main activities that stick to our minds are the partying and sex. Not to mention being hazed doesn’t look too fun either. However, the minute I came to the university, I was fliered left and right by, what are these — Asian-interest sororities?

A year later, you can find me proudly sporting the letters of Sigma Psi Zeta Sorority, Inc., investing so much of my time to ensure that my sorority is able to uphold the values upon which it was founded and to have a positive impact on this campus. So, what is an Asian-interest sorority, and how do they differ from mainstream sororities.

As a multicultural, Asian-interest Greek organization, we value our culture, academic achievement, philanthropy, and most of all, sisterhood very highly. Even our rush (recruitment) process is different from those of mainstreams. Rush is two weeks of events planned to allow girls to learn more about each sorority and their philanthropies, through general interest meetings, mixers with other Asian-interest Greek organizations, and private events with only sisters to allow a rushee to become familiar and comfortable with the sisters of that sorority.

Rushing for an Asianinterest Greek organization is free and non-binding — that is, you are not obligated in anyway to participate in the pledging process if you attend rush. So what has being in an Asian-interest sorority done for me?

My whole college career would be completely different if I had not “gone Greek.” One of the biggest benefits of joining a Greek organization is the endless opportunity to meet new people and network. Despite most Asian-interest Greek sororities being of a smaller scale than mainstream sororities, they are still nationally recognized organizations and have large alumni networks (these come in handy when searching for internships and jobs! In fact, I found my current on campus job through my big sister in Sigma).

Being in a sorority, also helps your development as a leader through various executive positions and committee chairs that you can run for. I know for myself, that my organizational, leadership, and time-management skills have been sharpened through my various commitments and positions within my sorority, such as being this year’s Vice President of External Affairs.

However, what really differentiates an Asian-interest Greek organization from a mainstream one is the cultural aspect. As a cultural Greek organization, we are very involved in the A/PIA community on campus and advocacy for A/PIA rights. We help fight for minority rights through bills such as the DREAM Act and the Instate tuition bill.

The greatest joy of all of being in an Asian-interest sorority though, has been the everlasting relationships I have formed. Being a sister is more than being just another friend, and this relationship cannot be explained to those outside the organization. I can’t even begin to express how grateful I am to my sisters that have supported and been by my side through thick and thin.

These friendships and bonds can be made through mainstream, but the smaller scale of an Asian-interest Greek organization allows one to really get to know your sisters in and out (imagine trying to form that tight knit bond with over 100 people versus just 30).

“True to our colors red and gold, sisters forever heart and soul.”

Sally Huang is an accounting major. She serves as the Asian American Student Union vice president of finance.

--

--

Plex
Plex
Editor for

The University of Maryland's student-run minority-interest news site. We highlight diversity, activism and all that jazz.