Photo by Svetozar Cenisev on Unsplash

Are you getting ready for Christmas or for Christ?

Reflections on how to make Christ central to my Christmas

Joanna VanDeWater
Published in
3 min readDec 8, 2023

--

My husband pulls out the tree and boxes of decorations. I hang a beautifully decorated, illuminated wreath on my door. I carefully adorn the tree with bright, pretty lights, arranging the strands to ensure I don’t see any dark holes. I unwrap each ornament and give it a special spot on the tree. I lovingly unpack my Nativity and put it on display, cherishing every piece and the memories of each one. With tender care, I hang each family member’s stocking, in preparation to receive gifts.

I spend time with my children, talking to them about their wishes this year. I carefully select presents suited their tastes and talents. The same care and attention goes into choosing stocking stuffers — the fun, cute things.

Christmas Eve is a time of reflective worship. Christmas morning is a time of joyful celebration. Hours of preparation, introspection, and envisioning culminates in a brief few minutes of gift giving and receiving. Every year, we consider ways to make the moments last a little longer.

How can I apply this attention to Christmas to my relationship with Christ?

  • Although, I’ve already opened my heart to Christ when He called me, the light of my life needs to show others how to let Him in; just like my wreath illuminates the door of our home, and welcomes people in.
  • Like the lights on my tree, I want to allow the light of Christ to shine in all my dark spots. If I step back and look at my life, I know I arrange Christ in the areas I’m comfortable bringing into the light. I want His light to penetrate all the deep holes. I want to His glory to shine brightly through me.
  • I want to unwrap the gifts God has given me, like each ornament, and give them the special spot God has planned.
  • As I allow God to work in me and through me, I want to care for my loved ones and neighbors in such a way that their hearts receive God’s gifts. I pray their hearts overflow with God’s abundance, more so than their stockings and shopping carts.
  • I want to worship and celebrate every day. I want every day to begin and end with preparation, introspection, and envisioning God’s plan for us through prayer and meditation on His Word. Christmas is a forever gift, not just a season.

Where is Christ in your Christmas?

What about you? Is your home beautifully decorated for Christmas?

Do lights adorn your eaves, your tree, your door?

Is your door open to Christ during this special time of year?

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me. Revelation 3:20

--

--

Joanna VanDeWater

Christian writer, apologist, and teacher with MA in Christian Ministry. Wife of 20+ years. Mother of 4 kids, 2 dogs, and 2 cats. Friend to all.